We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were lucky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hurricane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hurricane to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4218 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“We were lucky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had reservations at adjacent hotel but didn't like the location or the look of the place. Lucked out in that there just been a cancellation, and the other gal at the desk thought to remind the check in clerk of that fact. Rooms were nice and clean, and roomy. Husband just can't sleep on the extra thick pillows that seem to be the norm nowadays. We approached a room service attendant on the lower floor, and she immediately brought up two small pillows. Always appreciate the extra lighting and large work area. Breakfast tasty, but getting tired of the watery scrambled eggs we seem to be encountering everywhere. Appreciated the low cost guest laundry after being on the road for 10 days. Nearby restaurants and

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
10
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Water Valley, Mississippi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our party of 5 stayed in a suite (one King bed, one Queen bed and rollaway). The room was huge and appeared to be either fairly new or recently redecorated. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only thing I would change is to make the sofa in the room a pull-out. Instead, we had to move the sofa and other furniture around to make room for a rollaway. The breakfast was very good, and the breakfast room was very attractive with a fireplace. The desk clerk and breakfast room staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. It just gets worse every year. We come to this area for an annual event, so the location is good, but it ends there. Indoor pool water is COLD and so overly chlorinated that being in the pool area will make you eyes water. The rooms smell like they have been doused in air freshener so much so that the it is nauseating. I went to the front desk to ask if there was an automatic air freshener in the room so I could unplug or disable it. The clerk said no, that housekeeping just sprays freshener in the rooms... Well I have been here for 8 hours and it is still overly pungent, and the carpet smells like they spray it directly. Of corse we are on the first floor, so we an only crack the window 3 inches to try to get some fresh air. I think if the room were actually cleaned, you wouldn't have spray to cover up the fact that it is not truly clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mavrix24,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I truly apologize for the shortcomings you may have had during this visit particularly with the maintenance levels and indoor pool facility's condition being substandard. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

Hay Springs, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I picked this hotel so I could say I stayed in Hurricane WV. You gotta admit it's an interesting name for a town. It was a lovely place to spend the night. There were several places to eat close by and it was clean and comfortable. Our room did have a musty odor like old smoke but once we got the fan going and the window open it was ok. The staff was nice the breakfast was good and check in and out was simple. The shower head was great. All in all a good place to rest your head for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I took my family to a reunion in Hurricane...we stayed at this hotel. Very clean and more than friendly! Beds were very comfortable,and the area is quiet. The only problem was the chlorine in the hot tub. It was overwhelming and was not able to even use the pool. HOWEVER...the hotel was quick to react to this situation and went out of their way to accommodate us in other ways. Would definitely stay here next year again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This location is good for a quick nights stay while on the road. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and courteous. Harbor Town Fly Fishing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Harbortownflyfishing,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay particularly with the room amenities and breakfast. We work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy a great relaxing stay with us. Again, thank you for the feedback. Please feel free to stay with us when in the area again

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed at the one in Cross Lanes multiple times but found it booked due to a festival in
Charleston. Ended up going all the way to the Winfield exit in order to find an available room. The location is great, right off the exit and close to multiple eateries and stores. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hurricane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hurricane

Address: 4218 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hurricane 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Teays Valley/Winfield Hotel is located midway between Charleston and Huntington West Virginia; the two largest cities in the state. The hotel is just a short distance from the Toyota Motor manufacturing plant. Marshall University, West Virginia State College, Blenko Glass Factory, and the West Virginia State Capitol Complex are just a short drive from the hotel. We are the only facility within the county to have an indoor pool,unfortunately due to the size of our pool and consideration of our in house guests we do not allow any type of pool parties. Additional hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, even eggs and bisquits and gravy . We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hurricane, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hurricane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Hotel Hurricane
Holiday Inn Hurricane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.