We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great bargin for the cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hurricane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hurricane to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4218 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
“A Great bargin for the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Came to West Virginia for a family event. Booked two rooms based on reviews from others who have used this facility. Rooms are spacious, clean, modern in a faux art deco kind of way. AC worked great. Folks at the front desk are uber helpful. The breakfast is fantastic. Close to the highway and a variety of restaurants, shoppes (K-Mart, Kroger etc.) We've stayed in one and two start hotels around the country and have almost always been disappointed. Based on the experience of others and our experience we'll be staying at HIExpress more often. Might cost a little more but for a good nights sleep (beds are also VERY comfortable) it is worth the extra shekels.

Room Tip: call ahead and book early. On the second night of our stay the place filled up with kids and coache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
8
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgton, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at several HI Express Motels in the last 3 years. We like the consistency of accommodations from state to state. Clean, fresh rooms, good choices for the complimentary breakfasts. We stopped early at the one in Hurricane, WV, because we had driven s13 hours the day before. Got a nice upgrade to a suite for the same price we would have paid for a AAA rate on a double. The pool and hot tub took our aches away. Very accessible, plenty of towels. Getting ready for supper, the hotel hair dryer malfunctioned (as in, failed to work). Front desk was unable to assist for over an hour, but called to see if we were doing OK. Because the delay affected our supper plans, another discount was added to our rate. Didn't even have to ask. Easy checkout in the morning. Definitely our first choice hotel for cross country trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We travel a lot and this was honestly the worst hotel experience I have ever had. If you need to be in the area, I would suggest booking somewhere other than here. We had numerous issues and about 1/4 of the staff were helpful, the others were not. First room we had it smelled like damp, moldy towels when you walked in....it was the air that was blowing from the wall unit. We got moved, the gentleman that night was very helpful. The gym was closed for renovations but nothing was done to help guests with that. There is a fitness club you can walk to from the hotel, when we asked if they had complimentary passes for it, while the hotel gym was closed, we were told "oh, that would have been a good idea to think about". Four days, no gym = unhappy guests (the weather changed while we were there and we didn't bring warm enough clothes for outdoor running, thinking there would be an onsite gym available). Next, we went to the pool and it was hot - hot, hot and full of chemicals so much so that you couldn't see the steps or the bottom of the pool - my child couldn't use her diving toys because the water was so cloudy. After being in the pool, my husband noticed that the water had actually oxidized his wedding band. When I went to talk to the front desk about it, I was just told to use toothpaste to polish it. That, coupled with the room, the gym, etc. I had had enough. I was able to get a discount on the room only after asking what they could do for me since they didn't really offer me anything, that included no offer of an apology. At this point my sister in law came and when they checked into their room, it was a non-smoking room that was smokey, so they had to change rooms as well. Housekeeping came one day, left all the lights on, took all the towels and apparently never came back. The sinks never got washed down, had to track down our own fresh towels. And the strangest thing of all was that my daughter left her stuffed toy on the bed in the morning and they didn't make the bed...housekeeping left a note that said that if a personal item is left on the bed, they are not permitted to touch the bed. We have traveled all around the world and I can honestly say, that was an absolute first for us. It was just terrible and for the money ($114 a night) frustrating - longest four nights in a hotel, in my life. I was most frustrated because I cancelled reservations at the Hampton Inn to stay here because of the indoor pool which turned out to be a complete bust. The highlight of the stay, and the best person on staff, is the lovely older woman who stocks the breakfast area, she was a delight and a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear tinleyparktraveler,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our guests on how we are doing. I am truly sorry to know that the service you received was sub par and the condition of the gym facility inconvenienced you. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurricane hotels

Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

While the hotel was clean and had a decent location. A price of $115.00 for a night is way over-priced for the location and service provided. I should have gone to the other side of the interstate. The heat did not cycle also.

Room Tip: Go to other properties
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DLEHMAN230,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and you find our hotel clean. As for the rates, we provide a competitive rates in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our reservation for a jacuzzi suite got screwed up, but helpful staff booked us into a very pleasant king suite - lots of extra room, included micro and mini-fridge. The room was clean and quiet, the bed was the best I've ever slept in any hotel, entire property was clean and well-maintained, staff very friendly and pleasant, breakfast was great - did not use the pool/jacuzzi, but inside and saw staff maintaining them the next morning. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the property - might be a plus for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This was a nice stopover on our way home from the beach. It was a little over priced at $104 a night was a "weekend special" price. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel. We stayed in a king room and there was plenty of room to walk around. The breakfast was good with a cool pancake machine. The pancakes weren't the best tasting but the machine was really cool! The front desk clerks were helpful and friendly at check-in and check-out. It was close to restaurants across the street.

We would stay again if we are ever in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is located right off the I-64 interstate in Putnam County - about half way between Charleston and Huntington. In this area, this is probably the best hotel around if you are looking for accommodations. If you are wanting something a bit fancier, you will need to stay in downtown Huntington or Charleston. Both times I have stayed here the room has been clean, the pool area was nice, and the breakfast was good. It is close to an Applebee's and some other local restaurants. It's exactly as you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hurricane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hurricane

Address: 4218 State Route 34, Hurricane, WV 25526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hurricane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hurricane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hurricane 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Teays Valley/Winfield Hotel is located midway between Charleston and Huntington West Virginia; the two largest cities in the state. The hotel is just a short distance from the Toyota Motor manufacturing plant. Marshall University, West Virginia State College, Blenko Glass Factory, and the West Virginia State Capitol Complex are just a short drive from the hotel. We are the only facility within the county to have an indoor pool,unfortunately due to the size of our pool and consideration of our in house guests we do not allow any type of pool parties. Additional hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, even eggs and bisquits and gravy . We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hurricane, WV and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hurricane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hurricane Hotel Hurricane
Holiday Inn Hurricane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hurricane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.