We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast to the past, and always a fun and memorable experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camden Park

Camden Park
5000 Waverly Road, Huntington, WV 25704
304-429-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 Attractions in Huntington
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A blast to the past, and always a fun and memorable experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having grown up with Camden Park it will always be special to me, but even if you aren't from Huntington, CP is a walk down memory lane with famous old American amusement park rides and a couple of fun, wooden coasters thrown in. In fact, some of the kiddie rides are from the 50's while others (all well maintained), are over 100 years old. If you are into America's historic amusement parks, or just want to relive a bit of your childhood, CP is a must do experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    21
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceana,WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's still a very magical place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although the food is a little pricey, it doesn't take away the true family experience. Would go back tonight if I could, love it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“At The End of the Line!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Camden Park was created like many other American amusement parks at the end of the line for the trollies. (energy). This relic is a small creation but fun for the young of heart. I would visit this place for nostalgic purposes or plan a picnic under one of its sheds. Many rides including the 'Big Dipper' roller coaster are original. Cotton candy and pronto pups are still there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Six Flags, but Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Small town amusement park...older kids will turn up their noses but the grade schoolers will have a good time. Very good miniature golf corse.

Note: in July the Dodge 'Em cars burned down.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sign of the happy clown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I grew up going to Camden Park every summer and it was a thrill to go to. My parents would get my brother and I handstamps so we could ride all day or, since we lived close by, we would go of an evening by paying a dime to get in then just buying tickets for whatever rides we wanted to ride. But, times change. I recently visited for the first time in about 15 years and was really sad to see how much it had changed. The admission price isn't worth it plus you have to pay to park. Many of the rides are still the same but are not kept up well (safety wise ok, looks not so much). I guess this would be a great place to go with young kids who aren't used to larger amusement parks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camden Park also viewed

 

Been to Camden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camden Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.