We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovations!!! Quiet and Super Friendly Personable Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Huntington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Huntington to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Huntington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5190 US Rte 60 East, Huntington, WV 25705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Huntington
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great renovations!!! Quiet and Super Friendly Personable Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for years when visiting family. I can say I was thrilled to hear about the renovations, but after staying here upon completion of the renovations can say it has made some major changes and really look very nice. I like that it is centrally located to the interstate, as well as also restaurants, Marshall University, shopping , and something for everyone to do. I am always thrilled when I see the staff and especially one person names Sherry, she has always given the best customer service, listened when I had a question, and helped me with any directions that I needed. The staff is always polite, rooms are always clean, and I can lay down and feel safe and get a good nights sleep. I recently stayed at a Red Roof Inn in Tampa and can say that it was OK but not as nice as this one.

Room Tip: I would say to stop at the rest stop and get a hotel book that there is always a coupon it for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your business over the years. I'm glad you like the renovations and enjoy staying with us. I will pass on your comments to my staff. We appreciate your business and I home to see you again soon.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    60
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
46
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed 1 night here as a short getaway. We were looking for a place to lay out heads for the night. I did get a good rate through Hotwire. Check in was easy and we were given a handicap room.( must have been a leftover room) I hate handicap bathrooms!! You can't take a shower without soaking the entire bathroom floor and even though the room was recently renovated the bathroom was not and tile was dirty and stained. There were only 2 towels and they were dingy and thin( I could have called for more but was frustrated)The king bed and pillows were hard as rocks. We had issues ordering movies and the front desk clerk was very nice trying to help us as it took almost an hour to get it settled. The walks were very thin and could here all our neighbors.The best thing going for this hotel is the staff. If I return to Huntington I probably will not return to this hotel. It's not the worst I've stayed in, but I feel there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for you review. I'm sorry that you booked an Accessible room through Hotwire. Some of the online sites sell them without indicating they are this type of room. I know this can be frustrating since we cannot change these types of reservations. I always recommend calling the hotel to book the room. We will address the issues you mentioned and I do agree that we have a great staff here at the property. Thank you for your business and I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Storm passed through the area knocked out power to about every other room in the hotel. Staff couldn't move us to a room with power because they didn't have a computer to use and said they would discount our room twenty dollars. Our neighbor in the hotel and our friends got their second night free because their name didn't show up as being there the second night and they had power!!!!!! Red Roof refused to acknowledge how unjust this was and discounted us $20. Why does a hotel chain this size not have a back up plan or a generator?! Not to mention the rooms were very small and the towels were gray! Save yourself some hassle and go down the road to a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience staying with us during the power outage. These types of problems are very challenging when we have no computers and don't know which few rooms have limited power. We clearly did not handle the situation as well as we could have and we are discussing better ways to handle these situations for when the power goes out again. I can promise you we will get better.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I had a very quite and clean stay while I was there,, The staff (sherry) was very friendly and helpful and attended to all my needs.. I would totally recommend this place for anyone stopping by this area and at a very affordable price...

Room Tip: king suites are very nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to my staff. Thank you for you business and I hope to see you again on your next trip through town.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We reserved this room online abt 10 min. before we got there and paid $75 for non smoking king bed. We had an upstairs room in the lower 200's I believe. Rooms are ok - clean, bed comfortable,even a safe was provided as well as the micro and refer. The bars of soap provided have just a hint of strawberry.(pleasant surprise)Water pressure for showers was STRONG - loved it. You could, however, hear the water pipes LOUDLY each time the neighbor either flushed or used their faucet. Luckily ours didn't very often, at least overnight. There is no carpet in the room,just an "indoor/outdoor" type of carpet underneath the bed (which is ok with us) and hardwood floors. The room is a little narrow but for overnight thats not a big deal. I thought it would bother me more the fact there is NO complimentary breakfast but it didn't much. At least they did have coffee. For any longer than 1 night we would probably choose somewhere different.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stop-over with us. I agree that we are ideal for one night stays to break up a longer trip and that we provide a clean, comfortable room at a fair price with friendly service. No frills, just a good value. Thanks for your business and I hope to see you again on your next trip through town.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a stopover on the way to Kentucky. Although I had made my reservation online through a third party, I called the hotel when I realized I had forgotten to request a room closer to the lobby so that my wife would not have to stretch her limited mobility. The front desk person Sherrie said she while she could not guarantee my request, she would go ahead and put a note in.

When I arrived, the male front desk agent apparently saw my request on his computer an assigned us to the room immediately next door.

I could tell the room had been renovated and we had no complaints about the space. Being able to bring our dog along with no pet fee was a bonus. Although the rooms were smoke-free, we had the bad luck of being just below some other guests who smoked on their balcony and the scent occasionally wafted down below. Not the hotel’s fault but annoying, nonetheless.

When I went to check out the next morning, the female front desk agent recognized my name. I looked at her name tag and saw that it was in fact Sherrie whom I had spoken with on the phone. She said when she came in that morning, she even checked to see if my request was fulfilled. Kudos to her for her excellent customer service!

In summary, if you’re looking for a convenient place right off I-64 at a great value with friendly staff, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our new rooms and that we were able to meet you requests. We do believe that we offer clean, comfortable rooms at a fair price with friendly service. Thanks for your business and I hope we see you again on your next trip through town.

Jon Campbell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountains of Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Quiet, clean, comfortable, and well equipped. We really enjoyed our short stay. The Desk staff were friendly and a pleasure to talk to. My only suggestion would be to display better directional signage. Will stay again!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the rear. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRoofManager, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Huntington, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. Clean and comfortable with a friendly staff for a fair price. I couldn't have said it better myself. I agree we can be hard to find behind the other hotel but we are worth the search. Thanks for staying with us and I hope to see you again on your next trip.

Jon Campbell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Huntington

Address: 5190 US Rte 60 East, Huntington, WV 25705
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Huntington 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Huntington Hotel Huntington
Huntington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Huntington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.