We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations were over sold but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Pullman Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Third Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Huntington
Ellenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expectations were over sold but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lobby area was lovely, great expectations based on that appearance. My room was very nice and was what I requested with a Riverview. I wish I could have opened my slider. It was screwed shut.
I had a few minor issues in the room which were handled quickly. The only issue I see is that maintenance seems to be lacking. The carpets need to be cleaned. Things were closed down like it used to be very active area but now either not enough business or not enough money to keep up. I would have expected with the pretty weather to have had the patio all clean and setup with the umbrella opened to make it inviting. I didnt go to the pool but it appeared to be clean and nice. My housekeeper was awesome and seemed concerned that I have all that I needed. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I wouldmcome back here but not for the regularnprice. The hotel is a $100 a nite not $199. Whoever owns this hotel needs to step it up. I would never complain about a free meal so I will not review the breakfast.

Room Tip: Always request the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreaBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Louisa, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

You will regret it of you go here.Their website states that they have a hot tub,tanning beds,free breakfast and two free drinks a night...they have none of these things! When you go down to have your free breakfast..they inform you that you can have only the dry cereal but if you want the good breakfast that most other places supply free..you have to pay an additional $7.49 per person! The fanciest part of the place is a broken piano.The place is old and cheaply decorated.Snotty workers that act as if they're better than you,very rude! Not good at all.We had paid for a two night stay but left after one.We went to a Super 8 not far from there that was so much nicer,cleaner & some of the friendliest people we've ever met! Will never step foot in the Pullman Plaza Hotel again!

Room Tip: The whole place had a mugginess to it.Our room had the old green comforters on the beds that were so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington hotels

Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

this is the first time I stayed at Pullman plaza hotel and it was wonderful! the rooms were so clean and very, very comfortable and huge! plenty of room inside. loved the pool! perfect for laps swimming. the staff was outstanding and so caring! loved the delicious breakfast! Monique, my server, was so kind and caring. the front desk people so helpful and the shuttle service drivers were so wonderful! I highly recommend this super hotel for everyone!

Room Tip: rooms facing the plaza are a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have been regulars at the hotel. Under the new management, I feel as though we were deceived. I had a certain expectation based on previous stays, but we were not informed during reservation that policies had changed so significantly. And not for the better. The complimentary breakfast has been greatly scaled down to a limited continental breakfast. However, we could upgrade and pay for what we were getting in the past. Not only did the new management get rid of the free valet service, now they are charging for parking. On top of all that, the quality of the hotel has dropped off. One elevator was out of service, beds were not neatly made, and ice machines were not working. The hotel is in an ideal location, but with all of the sudden unannounced changes, it is time to search for a new hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rmw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour and can say that the property was very clean both in the public areas and the room itself. That said the public areas are tired looking and the room furnishings are from the late 80s or early 90s. This is the first property that I have stayed at in the last 6 or 7 years that does not have flat screen televisions. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and accommodating - that is a very positive sign in my estimation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafguy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, West Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I do enjoy staying at the downtown location in Huntington. The front desk staff is nice and responsive. The rooms are comfortable and nice. The drawback has to be the complimentary breakfast. On my last visit, there was not much left on the continental breakfast bar. Service was sort of slow. Even when I let them know the food needed to be replenished, nothing happened. I saw others come in later, look at a rather empty breakfast bar and leave disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fpalmer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The waitress staff in the breakfast room were very helpful also the bartender and waitress for the evening. The hotel on the whole was below par. The breakfast coupon was for a limited breakfast and they charged for milk. The old management gave a drink coupon and if you stayed at the hotel parking was free, now pay $6 and not a free drink. The tv's we're not flat screen and I could not access wifi for some reason. It as a real shame because the location is ideal for a nice hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GashF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntington
Holiday Inn Huntington
#5 of 11 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntington University Area
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Huntington
Red Roof Inn Huntington
#2 of 11 in Huntington
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntington
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Huntington
Ramada Limited Huntington
#6 of 11 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Huntington
Super 8 Huntington
#4 of 11 in Huntington
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Plaza Hotel

Address: 1001 Third Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pullman Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pullman Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing