We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone State Park

Bluestone State Park
HC 78 Box 3, Hinton, WV 25951
(304) 466-2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Hinton
Type: State Parks, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Hinton, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent two night in 3 bedroom cabin and was very pleased how well maintained it was. Was not expecting the up to date kitchen and satellite tv. Hiking trails are well maintained and the pool and grounds well kept. Brett McMillan and his staff are great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Scenic Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family drove through Bluestone on our way from New River Gorge to Pipestem. The road winds back off of the main road, and you'll almost feel like you're lost. There is a small visitor's center, but it had just closed when we arrived. There are some nice views to take in, and there are places to picnic. I read about cabins available up the hillside, but we didn't drive up to see. It's a quaint park. Likely a good option for a less-crowded getaway.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“No stay - just to play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Quick note: we did not stay, just played.

This was another "needed" trip for our VIPP membership. The park is cozy and the lake is beautiful! We sat outside, shaded under some trees, and watched the boats cruise around.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful WV Mountain Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great trails and wondrous vistas abound. Spent a great amount of time admiring the autumn colors. The wildlife was amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Confluence of a Rendezvous with Destiny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a visit to the spot where the Bluestone River flowing out of East River Mountain in Southwestern Virginia near the Tennessee Border joins up with the New River flowing from North Carolina near the Atlantic Ocean. The two waters meet in what is now the Bluestone Lake caused by the Bluestone Dam at Hinton, West Virginia. The New River flows on from here to later form the Kanawha where it meets the Gauley River at Gauley Bridge, West Virginia. Both these Atlantic Basin waters eventually end up in the Gulf of Mexico via the Kanawha, Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. It is truly a "rendezvous with destiny" here at Bluestone State Park near Hinton, West Virginia. Don't miss the views as they are spectacular. It truly is "Wild and Wonderful West Virginia!"

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestone State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bluestone State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.