We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone State Park

Bluestone State Park
HC 78 Box 3, Hinton, WV 25951
(304) 466-2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Hinton
Attraction details
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent two night in 3 bedroom cabin and was very pleased how well maintained it was. Was not expecting the up to date kitchen and satellite tv. Hiking trails are well maintained and the pool and grounds well kept. Brett McMillan and his staff are great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank steelcurtain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scenic Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family drove through Bluestone on our way from New River Gorge to Pipestem. The road winds back off of the main road, and you'll almost feel like you're lost. There is a small visitor's center, but it had just closed when we arrived. There are some nice views to take in, and there are places to picnic. I read about cabins available up the hillside, but we didn't drive up to see. It's a quaint park. Likely a good option for a less-crowded getaway.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank msubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No stay - just to play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Quick note: we did not stay, just played.

This was another "needed" trip for our VIPP membership. The park is cozy and the lake is beautiful! We sat outside, shaded under some trees, and watched the boats cruise around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank reebee2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
451 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Beautiful WV Mountain Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great trails and wondrous vistas abound. Spent a great amount of time admiring the autumn colors. The wildlife was amazing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Confluence of a Rendezvous with Destiny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a visit to the spot where the Bluestone River flowing out of East River Mountain in Southwestern Virginia near the Tennessee Border joins up with the New River flowing from North Carolina near the Atlantic Ocean. The two waters meet in what is now the Bluestone Lake caused by the Bluestone Dam at Hinton, West Virginia. The New River flows on from here to later form the Kanawha where it meets the Gauley River at Gauley Bridge, West Virginia. Both these Atlantic Basin waters eventually end up in the Gulf of Mexico via the Kanawha, Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. It is truly a "rendezvous with destiny" here at Bluestone State Park near Hinton, West Virginia. Don't miss the views as they are spectacular. It truly is "Wild and Wonderful West Virginia!"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestone State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bluestone State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing