We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone State Park

Bluestone State Park
HC 78 Box 3, Hinton, WV 25951
(304) 466-2805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Hinton
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scenic Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family drove through Bluestone on our way from New River Gorge to Pipestem. The road winds back off of the main road, and you'll almost feel like you're lost. There is a small visitor's center, but it had just closed when we arrived. There are some nice views to take in, and there are places to picnic. I read about cabins available up the hillside, but we didn't drive up to see. It's a quaint park. Likely a good option for a less-crowded getaway.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No stay - just to play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Quick note: we did not stay, just played.

This was another "needed" trip for our VIPP membership. The park is cozy and the lake is beautiful! We sat outside, shaded under some trees, and watched the boats cruise around.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
415 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful WV Mountain Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great trails and wondrous vistas abound. Spent a great amount of time admiring the autumn colors. The wildlife was amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Confluence of a Rendezvous with Destiny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a visit to the spot where the Bluestone River flowing out of East River Mountain in Southwestern Virginia near the Tennessee Border joins up with the New River flowing from North Carolina near the Atlantic Ocean. The two waters meet in what is now the Bluestone Lake caused by the Bluestone Dam at Hinton, West Virginia. The New River flows on from here to later form the Kanawha where it meets the Gauley River at Gauley Bridge, West Virginia. Both these Atlantic Basin waters eventually end up in the Gulf of Mexico via the Kanawha, Ohio and Mississippi Rivers. It is truly a "rendezvous with destiny" here at Bluestone State Park near Hinton, West Virginia. Don't miss the views as they are spectacular. It truly is "Wild and Wonderful West Virginia!"

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Cabin was a Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On the positive side the cabin was clean and the atmosphere of the park was nice. The Park office staff was nice and helpful. Renting a pontoon boat at the nearby marina was a highlight of our stay. However, the cabin is what ruined it for us. We stayed in cabin #4. The cabins are not air conditioned and I knew this prior to making the reservation. It was expectedly warm in the evenings with high 70's low 80's temperatures but the cabin had ceiling fans in each room which made the temperatures bearable as long as the air was moving. However every single window and door screen in the cabin had holes or was ripped on one side. We had a minimal number of lights on at night to try not to attract bugs. However, it was horrible. We were constantly being dive bombed by moths and flying bugs the first two evenings and on the third evening we lost electricity at 9:45 p.m. (there was no storm). At 12:30 a.m. we could not stand the heat, the dark, and bugs any longer. We packed by the lights of our cell phones and drove home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestone State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bluestone State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.