We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your Ordinary DQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen
Route 3 & 20 Byp, Hinton, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Hinton
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not your Ordinary DQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A DQ with a View! It is situated directly on the banks of the New River, across from Hinton. The seating is very clean and inviting with huge glass windows to enjoy the sites of the river and large island. Watch closely and you may see dear on the island, mallard ducks and geese swimming on the water. The restaurant has you typical selections of fast food, but also many home-style meal choices, including breakfast. Of course, they have all of the normal DQ ice creams, etc.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank lkmeador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goode, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dairy Queen - Hinton WVA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its the best Dairy Queen around. Atmosphere looking over the river is beautiful. Food is always good and service is normal. Very busy!

Visited May 2013
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Watch out for "DQ LAW"...SMH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to get blizzards & I asked if they could add almonds to mine and told the girl I didn't mind paying extra for it. I was told NO they cannot add to or take anything out of a blizzard. REALLY?? First I have heard of this and have never been told anything like that. I asked for the manager (no one had on a name badge so I have no idea if the girl that came over was really a manager or not & I really hope she wasn't) the girl that came over looked horrible, I don't think she had brushed her teeth in months and she just didn't look well kept but anyways I asked her why you could not pay extra for almonds to be added to a blizzard and I was told it was against DQ LAW and that they fall under DQ LAW (I laugh as I type that) according to her it is against DQ LAW to add or remove anything from a blizzard. Needless to say I walked out without a blizzard. On my way back to NC we stopped in Fort Chiswell, VA and I asked the ladies at that Dairy Queen and they all laughed and said they had never heard of anything like that. The manager there told me that the people at the other was either not trained correctly, lazy or just mean. They were great at the VA one. No more Hinton DQ for me!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
3 Thank jojoanddash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to Diary Queen yesterday with my tot. Our order was : 2 hot dogs everything and slaw,1 Weiner,1 large curly fry, 1 small regular fry, a bug juice, 1 coke. Price $14.52.
Seems a little steep considering it is only Hinton, Wv. Fast food is cheap I should have made my own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
517 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
“Monster Breakfast Sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On a weekend morning, we were driving through Hinton, WV after leaving our campground, with no idea where to eat breakfast. We spotted the DQ, and noticed the packed parking lot of cars, alongside the river. We hoped this would be a "sign" that they had a good breakfast.

We ordered 2 Breakfast Biscuit Sandwiches with Sausage/Egg/Cheese and one with Bacon. Man Oh Man! They were HUGE. Each "giant flakey" biscuit sandwich was "stacked" and served in what looked like a big coffee filter. I barely finished mine because it was so big and my son struggled too. The biscuits were awesome and loaded. What luck! I have no idea what the rest of the menu is like, but this by far was the busiest restaurant in town that we saw for breakfast, and the sandwiches were great. Nice surprise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank RoadTripper516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dairy Queen also viewed


Been to Dairy Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing