We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest House On Courthouse Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House On Courthouse Square
Save
You added The Guest House On Courthouse Square to your Saves list
419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hinton B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in the Rosemary suite, it was beautiful! Very clean and friendly staff!!! 5 stars all the way!! The location was perfect and the food was great. The homemade quiche in the morning was very tasty!

A lot of attractions and very close to Sandstone Falls :). Will stay again!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted that you had a great stay and hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is like renting a restored house for the price of a room. The room is actually a suite, wonderfully renovated and furnished, with a large bathroom that includes a jacuzzi. And you have the run of the house, which includes the kitchen with beverages and fruit. When the friendly staffer asked if I wanted quiche for breakfast, I expected a slice but I got the whole pie. The inn is well-located in the historic small town's center, and nestled between the mountains and the river.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Rosemary Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am pleased to see that our staff treated you well and that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate you visiting us and for the recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wonderful folks and beautiful accommodations! I was traveling for business and wished I could stay longer than one night. Will definitely refer friends and family looking for a great vacation get away with good food and local shops within a two block walk.

Lucinda

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted that you had a great stay and hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our recent visit to the in was a great experience-- A beautiful, comfortable, big room and luxurious bath! Quiche was delicious for breakfast! Warm greeting and helpful staff. We'd like to return sometime!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review! We are quite pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and had a relaxing trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were warmly welcomed with a fresh-baked quiche and a quick tour. We stayed in the Kenneth suite, which was beautifully decorated in a tasteful railroad motif. This is an immaculate, charming old home - it has been completely renovated and refreshed - combining the best of modern amenities and traditional charm. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and for the great review! I am pleased to see that you received friendly and excellent customer service from our team as this is what we strive for. We hope to see you again soon and that you can enjoy more amenities on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a very nice place in an area where lodging is hard to find. We came to the area for a funeral and we struggled finding a place where we did not have to drive a long distance to and from the services. We found this place on Trip Advisor and it was a gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Guest House is a great B&B in southern WV. I recently had to stay overnight as I came into town for a funeral. They worked with me on a very late reservation and got me into a room. The interior of the B&B is immaculate. From the moment you get in the front door, the decorations and furnishings are high quality throughout.

I stayed in the Rosemary Suite and it is very well appointed. From the sun room with leather couch, through the very comfortable bed, and into one an incredibly spacious and comfortable bathroom it hits every the right note throughout.

The only small knock I could give on the property is breakfast. It was pretty skimpy and although I knew it would be a continental, I would have expected a little more (at least make a pot of coffee for the morning).

That is a very small knock on a wonderful property, though. Will definitely be going back as my wife has seen my pictures and is jealous.

Room Tip: Rosemary and Kathleen suites are upstairs. Rosemary has a gorgeous sitting room/sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnne R, General Manager at The Guest House On Courthouse Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guest House On Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House On Courthouse Square

Address: 419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Small Town Elegance - Private Suites & Meeting Areas - Overnight & Extended Stay Built in 1898 and completely restored in 2007, The Guest House is a unique Inn that blends the best of old and new to provide luxurious overnight accommodations as well as impressive meeting and reception areas. The Guest House is a truly special place. "A superb blend of historic charm and quality accommodations." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest House On Courthouse Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.