We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise in Hinton WV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest House On Courthouse Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House On Courthouse Square
419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hinton B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great surprise in Hinton WV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Guest House is a great B&B in southern WV. I recently had to stay overnight as I came into town for a funeral. They worked with me on a very late reservation and got me into a room. The interior of the B&B is immaculate. From the moment you get in the front door, the decorations and furnishings are high quality throughout.

I stayed in the Rosemary Suite and it is very well appointed. From the sun room with leather couch, through the very comfortable bed, and into one an incredibly spacious and comfortable bathroom it hits every the right note throughout.

The only small knock I could give on the property is breakfast. It was pretty skimpy and although I knew it would be a continental, I would have expected a little more (at least make a pot of coffee for the morning).

That is a very small knock on a wonderful property, though. Will definitely be going back as my wife has seen my pictures and is jealous.

Room Tip: Rosemary and Kathleen suites are upstairs. Rosemary has a gorgeous sitting room/sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I filled the Guest House with guest attending my daughters wedding weekend in Sept. Joanne let me in early to place gift basket in everyone rooms. It is more beautiful than some 5 star hotels that I have stayed in. The renovation of the property was totally professional and it is so special not letting beautiful old properties go to ruins. The owner of this Inn should be very proud. Our wedding guest were impressed with their accommodations.

Sylvia Kennedy McCort

ps...there is no pool or room service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the Parker House last year and at that time they were considering selling it. Something must have changed because the house had an upgraded security system. This is a nice place to stay when visiting Hinton. However, if you want a hot breakfast, this is not what's offered here. Fruit, cereal, juice and muffins are available for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The photos on their website do not do this facility justice. Gorgeous, spotless, every amenity you could want, beautifully decorated, excellent comfortable beds, roomy suites! Washing machines and dryers are in each room (complete with soap, etc.), as well as iron & ironing board. So thoughtful! Location in the small but very charming town of Hinton (what a hidden treasure!) is central, and access to area sights and scenery cannot be beat. I was here for a week of business meetings, but got to see some of the sights as well. Would have loved to spend more time. The quality of this B&B is on a par with the best quality hotels in any major city. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If the AC is not at your preferred level of comfort, just let Judy know! While there is no swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous, modern , well appointed , spacious and clean rooms/baths. Comfy beds and great shower. Judy welcomed us with open arms and shiwed us around. even wrote directions for where we were going. very sweet and hospitable but she lives offsite.It was a warm night and the central AC was not on and we didn't know whom to contact. Finally figured out how to use the remote to keep the fan on and the light off. Didn't want to open windows because there were no screens and we were afraid of bugs. Would've been a great night had the AC been on. No breakfast. Not a true B&B. Self-serve modern kitchen. There was fresh fruit and muffins, a stale box of Cheerios but NO coffee. We ended up going out for breakfast. This place could be a total 10 if they addressed the above issues. Don't mind the self serve breakfast but didn't expect to have to brew the coffee.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncanton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As I am writing this...I am actually thinking about ....not reviewing this...so no one else discovers this hidden gem.....but alas......here goes....

Wonderful guest house located in Hinton West, Virginia. Sleepy little town, with lots of small town charm. Wish we had more time to explore the town and the area.
We LOVED this home! We were fortunate enough to have the whole house to ourselves. This home had it all (except a fireplace). Many thoughtful amenities not typically found in guest houses.
Quality abounds in this home from the time you step through the door.
This home would be ideal for "girls weekend" or for family reunions, etc. Bedrooms (which are really suites) provide lots of privacy if needed.
.
Reservations and check in were especially smooth.
We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in some of the finest hotels and inns in the world....this is a real find!
We are trying to find a way to enjoy this home and the area....for more than 1 day

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosemary Suite....Beautiful 2nd floor suite with a jacuzzi tub. Wonderfully comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

When we made our reservations we were informed that the Guest House was full but that they had an additional house on the other side of their meeting hall just around the corner. We stayed in the Parker House which was very beautifully restored. The rooms were spotless, towels fluffy, amenities available, and the innkeepers very responsive. The fresh fruit available all day was a nice feature. We will definitely stay in this property when we visit Hinton again. We did not use it but there is a grill outdoors as well as seating.

Room Tip: The Sarah guest room has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guest House On Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House On Courthouse Square

Address: 419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Small Town Elegance - Private Suites & Meeting Areas - Overnight & Extended Stay Built in 1898 and completely restored in 2007, The Guest House is a unique Inn that blends the best of old and new to provide luxurious overnight accommodations as well as impressive meeting and reception areas. The Guest House is a truly special place. "A superb blend of historic charm and quality accommodations." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest House On Courthouse Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Guest House On Courthouse Square to your Saves list