We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest House On Courthouse Square

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest House On Courthouse Square
Save
You added The Guest House On Courthouse Square to your Saves list
419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hinton B&B and Inns
ncanton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One night was not enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As I am writing this...I am actually thinking about ....not reviewing this...so no one else discovers this hidden gem.....but alas......here goes....

Wonderful guest house located in Hinton West, Virginia. Sleepy little town, with lots of small town charm. Wish we had more time to explore the town and the area.
We LOVED this home! We were fortunate enough to have the whole house to ourselves. This home had it all (except a fireplace). Many thoughtful amenities not typically found in guest houses.
Quality abounds in this home from the time you step through the door.
This home would be ideal for "girls weekend" or for family reunions, etc. Bedrooms (which are really suites) provide lots of privacy if needed.
.
Reservations and check in were especially smooth.
We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in some of the finest hotels and inns in the world....this is a real find!
We are trying to find a way to enjoy this home and the area....for more than 1 day

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosemary Suite....Beautiful 2nd floor suite with a jacuzzi tub. Wonderfully comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

When we made our reservations we were informed that the Guest House was full but that they had an additional house on the other side of their meeting hall just around the corner. We stayed in the Parker House which was very beautifully restored. The rooms were spotless, towels fluffy, amenities available, and the innkeepers very responsive. The fresh fruit available all day was a nice feature. We will definitely stay in this property when we visit Hinton again. We did not use it but there is a grill outdoors as well as seating.

Room Tip: The Sarah guest room has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We used the Guest House to host our son's wedding rehearsal dinner and had The Market to cater the affair. Prior to searching for a venue, we asked the couple what their wishes were for the rehearsal dinner. They wanted a romantic and quiet, but elegant setting where the families and friends could relax and spend time together. We searched and recieved bids from up scale restaurants in Beckley and Lewisburg, WV, but couldn't find a venue that covered all of the wishes. While having a pre-wedding meeting at The Market in Hinton, Ginger Snider mentioned their catering capabilities and talked us into conducting a site inspection of the Guest House with Nancy Richmond. After touring the Guest House, we knew we had found our venue! We quickly met with Ginger and she made the menu process very easy. All we had to do is show up! The night of the rehearsal dinner was terrific. The food was delicious, the lighting and tents were romantic, and the setting was relaxed and elegant! Our hostess was Judy Lytle and she made everyone feel at ease. She and Ginger gave extra attention to small details from the food and wine to pineapple and strawberries on the chocolate fountain that was beyond our expectations! The entire wait staff catered to our every wish. We were lucky to find The Guest House in our back yard and it added many wonderful memories of our special occasion! Thank you Guest House and Market, and we commend your staff for making our evening extremely memorable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My stay at the Guest House Inn was absolutely fantastic. Accommodations were beautiful and comfortable. Nancy goes above and beyond to make sure you are well taken care of. I would not hesitate to stay there again. There is nothing negative I have to say about my stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We first stayed at the Guest House last Christmas, then again recently while visiting family in the Hinton area. Our room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The granite and stainless kitchen is exceptionally well appointed, and we couldn't wait to put it to good use! We happened to meet the very friendly owner who has developed several properties and is making a big personal investment in improving this community. This guesthouse was on par with B&B's we've visited in Provincetown and Napa--an unexpected but delightful find in southern West Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My mom and I had to make a last minute trip to Hinton. My uncle had past away. We had never been there and this was the only "hotel" in the area. We stayed in the "Kathleen" suite and it was beautiful, comfortable and stunning as is the entire home. Nancy is a gem and was so helpful to us when we checked in. She knew of my uncle and made sure we knew where the service was being held and how to get there and how sorry she was. The whole home is beautiful and having a full gourmet kitchen to use is just amazing! I don't know when but, I will be going back to stay there. Just remember this is a "guesthouse" NOT a Bed and Breakfast. While the room has a coffee maker and all you need, there is no real breakfast. However Nancy does have a fresh bowl of fruit and some muffins in the morning for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for Valentine's Day weekend, and it was amazing!!! If you are looking for incredible luxury at a bargain, this is the place for you.

We were the only people who booked a room for the weekend, so we were able to enjoy the entire house to ourselves, including the gourmet kitchen! We stayed in the Rosemary Suite, and thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and luxurious bed. We bought food at the local grocery store, and cooked some fantastic meals in the kitchen. We didn't want to leave! The innkeepers surprised us with a red rose, a box of chocolates, champagne, and a platter or cheese and grapes. We were so impressed!

The town of Hinton seems to have seen better days, but we enjoyed ourselves so much in the Guesthouse that it didn't matter too much to us. Also, they were building an addition while we were there, I believe for a patio and/or restaurant, so it should be even better in the future!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guest House On Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House On Courthouse Square

Address: 419 2nd Avenue, Hinton, WV 25951
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Small Town Elegance - Private Suites & Meeting Areas - Overnight & Extended Stay Built in 1898 and completely restored in 2007, The Guest House is a unique Inn that blends the best of old and new to provide luxurious overnight accommodations as well as impressive meeting and reception areas. The Guest House is a truly special place. "A superb blend of historic charm and quality accommodations." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest House On Courthouse Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.