We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barnett Cabin Rentals

Barnett Cabin Rentals
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnett Cabin Rentals
Save
You added Barnett Cabin Rentals to your Saves list
HC 64 Box 430, Hillsboro, WV 24946   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“has gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have stayed at Barnett cabins 3 times and the last time (Aug. 2013) it was very different than the previous times. We stayed in cabin #3 and the cleanliness has really gone downhill. Every day there were ants in the kitchen and there were even spider webs in the shower with live spiders. Overall the cabin was very dirty. The quality of the furniture is very bad. There is a table on the front porch that only has 1 chair that is not broken - the other 3 are on the back porch - broken. It honestly was the same way 2 years ago - I don't understand why they haven't replaced the chairs in over 2 years - really?? The place really needs to be spruced up. I'm saddened by this because we have loved going to Barnett Cabins in the past but unfortunately we will not be going back. We actually left a day early because we would rather stay in our clean home. I hope they read this posting and consider a top to bottom clean up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had just bought a new Harley Heritage Softail Classic and wanted to do some great riding. We wanted lots of twistys and switchbacks. This is the place for them. Pocahontas County even puts out a free touring map for bikers .After an internet search we found this place. Being in a ski area, the rentals and condos are outrageously priced even in the spring. I entered July 2010 as the date only because it wouldn't let me go back any further. We stayed for 4 nights. I don't recall the exact price but it was around $400 total. Maybe a bit less. We wanted rustic and out in the middle of nowhere. We got it. If you like to hike and site see, you'll never see it all in a month let alone a few days. We also wanted to ride out to New River Gorge which we did. We found the cabins to be rustic but not in such a way as that they were dirty. I know rustic and this place was clean rustic. It had most everything we needed. We had to buy a few things like coffee and mustard, but for the most part, there were even spices and cooking oils. Plus a dozen or so other things like dish soap, tea bags, etc. The owners were great people. The free laundry mat was great as we were traveling kind of light. They let us use the PC for the internet in the office for free and even offered us fishing poles to use in the trout stream right out in front of our cabin. It is catch and release only. We didn't fish, but another guest fished almost solid for 2 days and caught quite a few trout. It rained really hard one night and Mr. Barnett even offered to let me park our bike in his shop for the night. We declined. She isn't a virgin to rain anyway. We plan to return again really soon hopefully with a few other bikers this time. We'd love to share this beautiful county with other people. As well as the cabins. The only complaint that I have is that the beds are soft doubles. My wife and I are used to a very firm pillowtop King. The sofa bed wasn't any better. Other than that, everything was AOK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed in cabin #4 for two nights while we biked the Greenbrier River Trail. We did not use their access road to the trail since we were being dropped off and picked up elsewhere on the trail, but you can access the trail from the cabins on your bike using a short trail on their property. The owners are nice people and live in a cabin home on the property which was good to know just in case we had any concerns. They also have a contractor's business located adjacent to the cabins, which was not bothersome. Highway 219 is somewhat closeby and there was some road noise, but not a concern.

The cabin itself was good as a home base for us and the kitchen is a nice place to prepare and serve a meal. It is nicely decorated with a rustic cabin theme. The grounds are a safe place for kids to run around and play or ride bikes. The stream is very low this time of year but the kids thought it was a fun place to splash around in. There is a nicely built communal fire pit with free wood supplied. We thought the tiny cabin launderette where we were welcome to do laundry, at no extra charge, was a real plus. Lewisburg is a pretty 45 minute drive for a day trip and you are at the base of the Highlands Scenic Highway and Cranberry Glades Wilderness area.

The cabin was minus a screen in the living room window and on the back door which we needed to let air into the cabin and keep the flying insects out. When I mentioned it upon our departure they seemed concerned and hopefully will take care of that maintenance issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnett Cabin Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Cabin Rentals

Address: HC 64 Box 430, Hillsboro, WV 24946
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hillsboro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Hillsboro
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each cabin has antique furniture and a fully furnished kitchen. Towels and all bed linens provided. Access to onsite laundry room. All you need is a fishing pole, mountain bike and camera. Whether you plan on grueling bike rides or casting into hidden pools our modern log cabins allow you to set your own schedule and relax in the natural splendor of this wooded wonderland. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnett Cabin Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.