We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, and the camp dog is awesome too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Campground

Ray's Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ray's Campground
Save
You added Ray's Campground to your Saves list
Hico, WV 25854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, and the camp dog is awesome too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My in-laws stayed in a cabin and my husband and I camped in our little camper. The grounds were very clean, the bathrooms were too. The camp site we chose was remote and it felt like we were in our own little forest. The couple that runs this place are so friendly, and the camp dog is the "greeter" and he is a real hoot. I highly recommend Rays and we will be staying there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barboursville, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We found Ray's campground very laid-back, wooded sites, friendly owners, and a great base for exploring the amazing area of Fayettesville!!! Our son and daughter-in-law camped and we rented a very basic cabin. It did have electricity with ceiling fan and was close to the clean restrooms. I am usually a fifth wheeler camper glamper instead of rustic camper so was a little nervous but the cabin and area was clean and we felt safe. Great porch to shelter in the rain. Would certainly go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our families wanted a camping site that way half way for all of us without costing us a lot of money. We wanted a tent site while others wanted a cabin. We also wanted to do this weekend getaway over Labor Day weekend. Ray's campground is just what we needed. The website is outdated looking but the photos are right on with what you will find at Ray's. A very primitive cabin and a place to tent. All sites have picnic tables and fire pits. Some come with a cabin while others are just tent sites. The wash house has about 5 showers and 4 toilets. Don't mind the curtains for doors. There is an outside sink to do your dishes. We did a lot of relaxing and hanging around our campsite. It was really cool to see Mr and Mrs Ray driving around to check on you. They are both very down to earth southern people. Milo, their dog even comes to check in on you! We are already looking forward to next year and making it an annual event at Ray's!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just spent 3 nights and 4 days in the New River Gorge area. We camped at Ray's all three nights. The place is great! Ray and Dren are really good folks, they are helpful and very friendly, They keep the grass cut, the restrooms/showers clean coffee in the store and a reasonable varaity of other consumeables. The other campers were friendly and ranging from some frat type guys, kayakers and boyscouts from Columbus, Ohio. I would highly recommend this campsite to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband made reservations for a campgrounds so we could go white water rafting in WV. He forgot the name of the campgrounds and somehow came up with the name Ray's Campground. He called and the gentelman on the phone was so polite and nice and said sorry but we don't have a reservation. He tried to assist my hubby in figuring out where he had made a reservation but no luck. They hung up and just a couple minutes later the gentelman from Rays Campground called back and suggested another place we may have booked. It was the one! Hard to believe this man spent that much energy to get us to another campground instead of his own! Had we not already paid for the other place we would have stayed at Ray's. When we do a return trip Ray's is where we will be going! Customer service for someone who is not even his customer ....just spectacular! Kandy Grubb Columbus, OH

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My buddies and I do an annual camping trip every year and while we choose different places every year, after our recent experience with Ray's, we may have to keep going back again and again and again. The folks at Ray's were kind, accommodating, and laid back. They set us up in a private "party" area where my friends and I could be a little raucous around the campfire at night, were flexible about how when and everybody paid (at $8.50 per night per person still one of the cheapest campsites I've ever stayed at), and were quick to help us out if we needed anything. The campsite was expansive and freshly groomed, the shower facilities were clean and convenient, and the ability to get ice and wood whenever we needed on an honor system (just pay what you owe in the end), was very convenient given our nocturnal activities. Whether it's for a weekend with buddies or a trip for the family, Ray's campground is the place you want to go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I've been to Ray's since 1997 and to this day will tell anyone going rafting that they MUST stay at Ray's. Don't buy into the package deals that some of the rafting companies try to build into their costs if you stay at one of their campgrounds - it does not save you as much as booking rafting separate and then staying at Ray's. Ray's exists because over the years, they have kept their costs consistently low and the service is friendly and down-to-earth. I camp at Ray's everytime I visit the are to hit the rapids. Firewood is readily available and delivered right to my campsite and Dren cooks a hearty breakfast if you opt to join them in the morning. It is an easy location to miss since it is tucked in just a bit off the main road, but once you know where it is it is so easy to get to.

Room Tip: Book cabins early if traveling with a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ray's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Campground

Address: Hico, WV 25854
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.