We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Campground

Ray's Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ray's Campground
Hico, WV 25854   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Hico
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just spent 3 nights and 4 days in the New River Gorge area. We camped at Ray's all three nights. The place is great! Ray and Dren are really good folks, they are helpful and very friendly, They keep the grass cut, the restrooms/showers clean coffee in the store and a reasonable varaity of other consumeables. The other campers were friendly and ranging from some frat type guys, kayakers and boyscouts from Columbus, Ohio. I would highly recommend this campsite to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband made reservations for a campgrounds so we could go white water rafting in WV. He forgot the name of the campgrounds and somehow came up with the name Ray's Campground. He called and the gentelman on the phone was so polite and nice and said sorry but we don't have a reservation. He tried to assist my hubby in figuring out where he had made a reservation but no luck. They hung up and just a couple minutes later the gentelman from Rays Campground called back and suggested another place we may have booked. It was the one! Hard to believe this man spent that much energy to get us to another campground instead of his own! Had we not already paid for the other place we would have stayed at Ray's. When we do a return trip Ray's is where we will be going! Customer service for someone who is not even his customer ....just spectacular! Kandy Grubb Columbus, OH

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My buddies and I do an annual camping trip every year and while we choose different places every year, after our recent experience with Ray's, we may have to keep going back again and again and again. The folks at Ray's were kind, accommodating, and laid back. They set us up in a private "party" area where my friends and I could be a little raucous around the campfire at night, were flexible about how when and everybody paid (at $8.50 per night per person still one of the cheapest campsites I've ever stayed at), and were quick to help us out if we needed anything. The campsite was expansive and freshly groomed, the shower facilities were clean and convenient, and the ability to get ice and wood whenever we needed on an honor system (just pay what you owe in the end), was very convenient given our nocturnal activities. Whether it's for a weekend with buddies or a trip for the family, Ray's campground is the place you want to go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I've been to Ray's since 1997 and to this day will tell anyone going rafting that they MUST stay at Ray's. Don't buy into the package deals that some of the rafting companies try to build into their costs if you stay at one of their campgrounds - it does not save you as much as booking rafting separate and then staying at Ray's. Ray's exists because over the years, they have kept their costs consistently low and the service is friendly and down-to-earth. I camp at Ray's everytime I visit the are to hit the rapids. Firewood is readily available and delivered right to my campsite and Dren cooks a hearty breakfast if you opt to join them in the morning. It is an easy location to miss since it is tucked in just a bit off the main road, but once you know where it is it is so easy to get to.

Room Tip: Book cabins early if traveling with a large group
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape girardeau mo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Great Place, and can't wait to go back.
Had no problems at all. The place was clean and well kept.
VERY FRIENDLY FOLKS THERE.
My wife and I had a great time in the area, and Ray and his wife were very helpful in pointing out some area highlights.
We were tent camping, and the place was beautiful, and so quiet you could here all the night sounds. The campground is far enough from the highways that you could barely hear them.
Ray's is a little off the beaten path, but that is what we were looking for. Worth the drive to get there. (not that far)
We will be going back as soon as possible.

  • Liked — friendly people there and quiet area
  • Disliked — can't think of any thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have stayed at Ray's Campground every year for the last 6 or 7 years. I usually travel there as part of a large group that visits from Columbus, OH to raft the New River. But I have also used Ray's Campground when travelling alone or in a small group on several visits to WV for the Bridge Day celebration in October. The campground is less than 15 minutes from the New River Gorge Bridge.

I have always found Ray to be an attentive owner, who happily responds to even late night requests for things like firewood, soap/supplies in the restroom, etc. He is also a storehouse of local knowledge and has directed me to some of the most beautiful trout streams I've fished in many years.

The cost to stay at Ray's is extremely reasonable, whether you stay in a cabin or use one of his many tent sites. Grocery stores and service stations can be found less than 10 minutes away.

The facilities there include a communal bath house, where you can get a hot shower, wash up in the sink, or use the toilet facilities.

Finally, the campground's location, high on the ridge line affords great views of the night sky and works well for stargazing.

Ray Fusco
Columbus, Ohio

  • Liked — The attentive owner
  • Disliked — gets a bit muddy when it rains
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

Ray's was recommended to us by the staff of the rafting company that helped arrange our trip down the New River. While some of the sites at Ray's were beautiful and the owners were friendly, we should have suspected something when we saw the only campground rule was "Quiet Hours: Midnight to 7 a.m." One camper rode his ATV up and down the campground paths, others played radios loud enough that you could identify the exact song 100 yards away. The owners seemed unwilling to intervene regarding the ATV, even after we asked. We offered to move to Ray's lower campground away from the noise, and were awakened late that night by a camper, roaring drunk, having a conversation with his friends at the top of his lungs - we could hear him loud and clear from the upper campground. The good news? He quieted down around midnight, but by that time we had decided to ask for a refund - we wouldn't be staying a second night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ray's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Campground

Address: Hico, WV 25854
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ray's Campground to your Saves list