We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cabins were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
1 review
“The cabins were very nice and the scenery was beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The cabin we stayed in was clean and spacious with a hot tub and grill on the porch. It doesn't get much better than that! Also extras (chocolate lovers special, picnic basket lunch, steak dinner makings) were very reasonable and a wonderful addition to our weekend. We enjoyed the bridge and surroundings, and the quaint town of Hico, etc. We highly recommend Country Road Cabins.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hubbard, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The very first time my husband, daughter, and I stayed at Country Road Cabins in Hico, West Virginia we fell in love. If you enjoy the outdoors, it doesn't get any better than being here. We had been going whitewater rafting yearly and staying in a local hotel. It was very nice. Then we found out about these cabins and couldn't get enough! Now, whenever we go rafting (which happens to be the best two rivers in the country-and we've tried the famous ones), we have to stay here. There are so many sizes to choose from (2 bedrooms and more, lofts, etc.) and the hot tubs are absolutely wonderful after a day of rafting, hiking, rapelling, skiing, horseback riding, four-wheeling, you name it as far as outdoor activities! My daughter even says the cabins are "nicer than home!" You can take a nature walk in the evening and see fox, deer, and more. Or just sit on the front porch swing and watch for the wildlife. Country Road Cabins has everything you need from dinnerware to firewood, satellite t.v., and dvd players, yet you are so privately secluded. If you want a romantic getaway, they even supply champagne! They are easy to find, yet in the middle of the mountains. The people who make your reservation couldn't be any friendlier-and not because they have too. They are honestly down-to-earth, wonderful people! Whatever you want from the size of the cabin to any outdoor adventures (like the new zipline tours), they take care of it for you with one quick, easy phone call. We have traveled to 45 states, but always come back to these cabins yearly (11 years now ) for the beautiful cabins, outdoor adventures, relaxation, and the best hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I thought I was dreaming! Beautiful cabins, hot tub, fireplace, swing and rocking chair, you see no one....they have you fixed up and ready for leasure. Spotless, totally quiet, pet friendly, grill spotless, I can not say enough good things. Oh, yes I can, wish I owned one of those cabins! These people even left a treat in the front lawn for my dog! Wonderful office help, and also wonderful cleaning lady. Very trustworthy people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

If you are looking for luxury in the middle of W VA then be prepared. While this is no Four Seasons, the cabins are attractive, modern, clean and well stocked. The location gives us access to the New River Gorge for all kinds of outdoor activities. We usually camp for several days and top off our vacation by spending the last couple of nights at Country Road Cabins. At an average of $280/night they are a big step up from our $18 campsite fee at Babcock State Park down the road. Worth every penny though. Our last stay was 3 nights. The Marathon is our favorite cabin with the classic A Frame. It has 2 full bathrooms and plenty of space to sleep 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Strong recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I cannot say enough about Country Road Cabins! I couldn't have been happier after choosing this setting to spend a terrific 10 year anniversary getaway. The staff were so helpful, offering to set up excursions, special cabin touches, complimentary champagne. The cabin itself was immaculate. It had a completely stocked kitchen, giving us the ability to just stay there without driving to a restaurant for dinner. The cabins were private, yet close to main roadways. The hot tub was fabulous, private, great for relaxation in the evening. We are so looking forward to another trip to Country Road Cabins in 2 weeks!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed for a week for our honeymoon in August. It was very private and very clean for being in a wooded setting. Very close to all the activities we had planned and the staff was very helpful & friendly before hand with my planning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at country road cabins for many of our romantic weekend getaways. We have traveled the country and have never found somewhere so perfect for couples to relax, unwind, and reconnect. As a WV resident and native i have stayed in different parts of the state but Country Roads is the perfect location for entertainment, relaxation, and just plain FUN! The staff is great, and the service top rate. The cabins are clean, cozy, and private. We are so glad we found country roads cabins. We will continue to stay with them for years to come. We recommend these cabins to everyone. You will love your stay with them.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hico
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
14.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
14.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
14.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Summersville
Hampton Inn Summersville
#4 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.