We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Surprisingly Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I were feeling spontaneous and decided to get a cabin for a couple days. We called at 10am and they got us in that same day with no problems. We stayed in the North Point cabin with our 7 month old baby. It was completely stocked with tons of extra linens and towels. The kitchen has all appliances, pots, pans, etc. The back deck had a big grill and a nice hot tub. They claim they empty the hot tubs completely, wash them, then refill with new chlorine tablets!! I thought this was amazing! I didnt want to get in the hot tub if the person before us 'christened' it! haha.

My only suggestion would be that they should offer complimentary pack n plays or cribs for babies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Cabin exceeded expectations, hot tub very nice and clean. Amber incredibly helpful and kind during the reservation process. Would recommend this rental to any large family or small group. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had booked this trip to Country Road Cabins for our 1 year anniversary where we stayed in the "Laurel" cabin and it was absolutely beautiful! We absolutely loved the fireplace and relaxing in the hot tub. The only set back we encountered was trying to find a nice place for an anniversary dinner. Since we booked our stay in April, a lot of places weren't open yet. Next time I would book the package with the breakfast and steak dinner; and there will definitely be a next time! I highly recommend this place and will definitely be referring these cabins if anyone asks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our second visit to Country Road Cabins. This time we stayed in the Yurt...officially known as the "Love Shack"....it was great. Always clean...away from everything, but close enough if you ever want to venture out of the jacuzzi! If you go, make sure you visit the bridge and also Rosie's Restaurant which is about 5 miles away. You will come across some really nice locals. If you want something small, private, and secluded go for the Yurt....or they have many other options available. Our yearly retreat!

Room Tip: Back of the woods is more private! As for the "Surprise" or the "Yurt"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

For a short weekend trip, we couldn't fit enough in. I was randomly looking up "romantic" places to stay as a quick weekend getaway and luckily found this place and would come back again. As is turns out, Fayetteville WV, has a ton of stuff to do and we will be back! Adventures on the Gorge has some of the biggest ziplines on the East Coast. New River Gorge Bridge had a really cool under the bridge, "bridgewalk" and is 876 feet above the river. Dining and shopping in the local area is great and we didn't even get the chance to go on the bike trails, kayak or go white-water rafting. The cabin is a perfect log home! Complete with bedrooms, kitchen, showers, covered porches, dinning room and living room with cable. Rather than renting a cabin, your renting out a house! Privacy here was great and at night its completely black with no street lights and very low visibility of neighbors. Great for a campfire and star gazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was one of the best vacations I have ever taken. My fiancé and I just wanted a small getaway for the weekend. I ordered the package with the breakfast and the steak dinner. They stocked our cabin with more than enough food. Very nice champagne and the souvenir glasses was a pleasant bonus. They had the hot tub heated and ready to go. Impeccably clean. I don't think I have ever stayed in a cleaner place. We also liked the privacy. The cabins are not on top of each other so you have lots of privacy. Staff was very helpful. Amber was terrific in making sure all details in line. I highly recommend this place to anyone. We will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Cabin was extremely clean, secluded yet close enough to many main West Virginia attractions. Owners/ workers were friendly. I would recommend country road cabins to couples and families. It was the perfect weekend getaway. I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.