We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third time at CRC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save Saved
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Hico
Darlington, South Carolina
1 review
“Our third time at CRC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our third stay with CRC. The first time we went to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. We had family form Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Georgia who attended. We chose CRC because it would be easy drive for all of us. We loved the cabin it was clean and comfortable. After that stay we knew we would be back. We spent Christmas 2012 at Applachian. We were able to bring our dogs and our daughters came from Pittsburgh and met us there. Christmas Eve it snowed and living in South Carolina we welcomed the white Christmas. Last week we spent 4 nights at Appalachian. We spent two days on the slopes at Winterplace, which is an easy drive from the cabin.It was so much better than getting a hotel. We came back each night and had a homecooked meal then relaxed in the hot tub. We love staying at CRC and we're looking forward to our next trip this summer. We plan to do some biking and whitewater rafting.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champion, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

my gosh- so much to say.. I missed the sale for buy 2 nights stay a third for free, (I had made my reservations too early) but we were offered a free breakfast to accommodate us. That was very nice and there was more than enough for two days!
The cabin was very clean and well stocked. The hot tub was immaculate. The bed was comfy. The only thing I would say was that the sofa faced the kitchen versus a romantic view of the fireplace or the very practical view of the tv. We reconfigured it to our liking and it worked fine The satellite kept cutting out, but, oh well, we wanted seclusion! .
My husband and I planned a 4 day stay but it had to be interrupted due to a family illness. We have a three day credit and plan to use it. We want to bring our dog next time- it would be nice if there was another pet friendly cabin available. The only one that is available is large 3 bedroom- too big for us. But we plan to try to reserve it anyway. We will pay the difference and invite some friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh Pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I wanted to get away alone for a few days and found Country Road cabins on the internet. We drove 3 1/2 hours to get there. I must say this is one of the nicest, cleanest, and well kept secrets around! We stayed at the 'Surprise"....it was wonderful. It was immaculate and well kept. Everything worked and you can tell that they cared about the details of the place. It was quiet and could not have given us better solitude for the few days we were there. the customer service was extremely helpful...easy to book....flexible! The staff was just wonderful all around. We would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to simply "get away" from everything. There is also a great number of things to do locally that does not take much time to get to. My wife and I have traveled the world and we are placing this as one of our top spots! We will definitely return...cant wait. Thanks!

Room Tip: Choose the Surprise...back in the woods and not much there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay over Bridge Day weekend.. The resort is a real treat for an overworked busy military family... The Valley View cabin was perfect for my large family. Also, thanks to the reservation staff for the information packet and the on point directions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Country Road Cabins are the best! - The staff - Amber and Hilarie helped us - were so easy going and made us feel so welcome. The cabins were pristine, but still felt like home and the rooms are spacious. Nice to have a good size grill at our cabin and the hot tub worked perfectly. The location was ideal for Bridge Day and other outdoors activities.

DO - follow their instructions to get to the cabin complex. DO NOT - be like my boyfriend and insist on GPS at 1:30am. :(

DO - Stop by the Mystery Hole at some point during your visit. It's just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived October 4, 2013 having reserved a long weekend stay at Pillow Rock cabin. Amber greeted us promptly and provided more literature than you can imagine about all the options for travelers. Pillow Rock was spotlessly clean and welcoming in all respects. The front porch with a swing, rocking chairs and fall decorations greeted us. The deck with the hot tub ready is spacious and the view scenic. All appliances are in working order, plenty of hot water, functioning WiFi and more. You will not regret spending one moment here. Great long weekend.

Room Tip: Pillow Rock is perfect for our 4 adults and two grandkids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Country Roads Cabins several times and loved it every time! The cabins are beautiful, clean, and private. I would recommend these cabins to anyone and everyone who is looking for a country getaway. The location is near to many different attractions and restaurants. We always have a great time. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.