We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Wilderness cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save Saved
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Wilderness cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I, along with 4 teens, stayed in the Wilderness cabin at Country Road Cabins for 1 week. The staff did a friendly and efficient job of making the reservation and handling the logistics; all the communication was complete and informative, and the key to the cabin was available after hours precisely as they indicated. The cabin was well suited for accessing the rock climbing areas near Fayetteville and Summersville Lake. It was a luxury to be able to come back to such a comfortable setting after a day outdoors. The kitchen was reasonably equipped, and it was nice to be able to alternate restaurant nights with some simple dinners at the cabin. With four teens on the trip, I particularly appreciated that each bedroom was on a different floor. We took the top bedroom, leaving the first floor bedroom and the basement twin room to the teens. Since it was a cabin in the woods, it was naturally not as soundproof as a house, but the setup made for a little separation that helped with the fact that people went to sleep and got up at different times. The wifi worked well. The front porch had a comfortable assortment of rockers and chairs.

We enjoyed the stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fabulous, secluded, well appointed cabin. You're right in the woods with your own hot tub on the deck. This place has everything you need...fire place, fully equipped kitchen, wifi, satellite tv. And you're close to great restaurants AND the New River Gorge...everything you need to satisfy your outdoor adventure cravings is just minutes away!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for a place to hide this is it. My wife and I have stayed here at least six times and every stay has been great! It is just the perfect setting without being miles away from civilization. Everything in the cabin is in good order and works. It doesn't matter what the weather is this place will work. We have stayed in several different cabins and they are all great. The staff adds to why I am always satisfied, very professional, easy to get along with. Try it you won't be disappointed. John

Room Tip: All cabins are secluded but within sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the North Pointe cabin three nights last week and had a great time! The cabin was ready for us even though there was no one at the office due to us arriving around 8 pm. There was a king size bed downstairs and a double or queen size bed in the upstairs bedroom. There were also two pull out beds in the couches. Overall the cabin was very clean with a few minor exceptions to be expected in a country cabin in the woods. We would definitely stay in these cabins again in the future if we re-visit the area. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to use the outdoor hot tub. Maybe next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family has been going to Wv and staying at Country Road Cabins for over 20 years. We always feel welcome from the owners to Amber in the office. The cabins are top notch and furnished with many things you may leave behind. They have dish network and internet service. Wood settings with places to hike . Easy to get to rafting and other sight seeing events. We even got to see Paul take a dump in the Lower New River compliments of his good friend Bob Pugh. Wonderful friends and a great 70th birthday celebration!!!!

Room Tip: the cabins in the woods are just wonderful. secluded feeling ! Look for deer and raccoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Appalahian cabin was great.You never would have known it is the dog friendly cabin.This dream come true cabin was perfect..no oders..very clean and accomadating..all utensils and kitchen essentials are provided.this cabin exceeded my expetations..i hope I make it next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a West Virginian get away and we found this place on Tripadvisor. We stayed in the Hideaway. Very nice cabin, very comfortable. When we arrived at the cabin....we walked into a very clean cabin with the lights on, the A/C comfortable, and the hot tub "hot". All we needed to do was unpack and relax. We had plenty of towels, pillows (we relocated some from the other bedroom in the cabin) and tea (and coffee -- but we don't drink coffee). About six feet beyond the back deck, the area sloped away into trees, trees, trees. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at night where we could see the fireflies in the woods that surrounded the cabin. Even though our intent of the weekend was to "unplug", I confess I did use the WIFI and did watch some HBO. One morning after hitting the snooze button on the alarm (but turning it off instead) we overslept. We didn't wake up for several hours because it was too quiet! (Yes...this cabin was too quiet!) I guess that's a good complaint to have on vacation! The "city" of Hico doesn't really have any restaurants, but there are places to eat all around the city (10 mile radius). The kitchen was nicely stocked with dinnerware, utensils and small appliances (I guess we could have cooked or grilled on the back deck). The cabin was centrally located in the state. (Good location for us to get to everything on our "to do" list). I would love to return in the fall. I bet the leaves are breathtaking!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.