We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at North Pointe cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at North Pointe cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the North Pointe cabin three nights last week and had a great time! The cabin was ready for us even though there was no one at the office due to us arriving around 8 pm. There was a king size bed downstairs and a double or queen size bed in the upstairs bedroom. There were also two pull out beds in the couches. Overall the cabin was very clean with a few minor exceptions to be expected in a country cabin in the woods. We would definitely stay in these cabins again in the future if we re-visit the area. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to use the outdoor hot tub. Maybe next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orange va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family has been going to Wv and staying at Country Road Cabins for over 20 years. We always feel welcome from the owners to Amber in the office. The cabins are top notch and furnished with many things you may leave behind. They have dish network and internet service. Wood settings with places to hike . Easy to get to rafting and other sight seeing events. We even got to see Paul take a dump in the Lower New River compliments of his good friend Bob Pugh. Wonderful friends and a great 70th birthday celebration!!!!

Room Tip: the cabins in the woods are just wonderful. secluded feeling ! Look for deer and raccoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Appalahian cabin was great.You never would have known it is the dog friendly cabin.This dream come true cabin was perfect..no oders..very clean and accomadating..all utensils and kitchen essentials are provided.this cabin exceeded my expetations..i hope I make it next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a West Virginian get away and we found this place on Tripadvisor. We stayed in the Hideaway. Very nice cabin, very comfortable. When we arrived at the cabin....we walked into a very clean cabin with the lights on, the A/C comfortable, and the hot tub "hot". All we needed to do was unpack and relax. We had plenty of towels, pillows (we relocated some from the other bedroom in the cabin) and tea (and coffee -- but we don't drink coffee). About six feet beyond the back deck, the area sloped away into trees, trees, trees. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub at night where we could see the fireflies in the woods that surrounded the cabin. Even though our intent of the weekend was to "unplug", I confess I did use the WIFI and did watch some HBO. One morning after hitting the snooze button on the alarm (but turning it off instead) we overslept. We didn't wake up for several hours because it was too quiet! (Yes...this cabin was too quiet!) I guess that's a good complaint to have on vacation! The "city" of Hico doesn't really have any restaurants, but there are places to eat all around the city (10 mile radius). The kitchen was nicely stocked with dinnerware, utensils and small appliances (I guess we could have cooked or grilled on the back deck). The cabin was centrally located in the state. (Good location for us to get to everything on our "to do" list). I would love to return in the fall. I bet the leaves are breathtaking!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cabins with easy access to local attractions such as zip lining, whitewater rafting, Hawks Nest & the New River Gorge. Very nice people that were very accommodating. Just wish I had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This year we were booked into the West Virginian. The cabin had everything we could ever need for the week, sheets, towels, fully stocked kitchen with a full sized fridge and stove, microwave, toaster and dishawasher. There were gas logs in the living room. We did not prefer the location of West Virginian; it sits over the access road for some of the cabins,and is within sight of two other cabins, unlike Suprise, which was totally isolated. We did not hear any noise from the cabins, nor see the other guests, but we would have liked the isolation.
Our cabin this year was similar in style to Suprise, with 2 bedrooms and baths - one upstairs and one down. The layout of the West Virginian first floor bedroom was much better than Suprise. We had a lot more room to walk around - this was very nice. The cabin had real coffee and filters, sugar and sweetner, along with a selection of spices and foils/wraps stocked for us. The gas logs were nice because the temperature dropped several nights and it was nice to sit by the fire. The logs heated the cabin quickly, and the heatpump was not needed. Each queen sized bed had a blanket and two pillows, with spares in the closet. The bed was firm and comfortable.The pillows were firm too. There were lots of towels and washcloths in the bathroom. I would have liked more luxorious towels, but these were clean and in good shape and dried quickly. The shower was hot and the pressure was acceptable. We did not use the flat screen TV or DVR, but the list of channels seemed long, and instructions were provided. The hot tub was clean and set at 104 degrees. The cabin was clean, but not spotless - the kitchen table did not feel clean when we arrived. We also had a small mouse visitor - which we reported to the office. We had a wonderful week, and the cabin was great. We absolutely will return here next time we are in the area - but we will ask for one of the cabins towards the back of the property.

The road on the property is dirt with gravel, and has been very well maintained, so Our Camry had no problems getting arournd. Each cabin has a lightpost and there are lightposts at each turnoff on the property.

Room Tip: Cabins toward the back of the property are more isolated which provides more of a backwoods feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful..the cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed..the hot tub was nice and clean..location was great we will go back for another get away.staff was very friendly and very helpful. It was worth the time and money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.