We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cabins with easy access to local attractions such as zip lining, whitewater rafting, Hawks Nest & the New River Gorge. Very nice people that were very accommodating. Just wish I had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This year we were booked into the West Virginian. The cabin had everything we could ever need for the week, sheets, towels, fully stocked kitchen with a full sized fridge and stove, microwave, toaster and dishawasher. There were gas logs in the living room. We did not prefer the location of West Virginian; it sits over the access road for some of the cabins,and is within sight of two other cabins, unlike Suprise, which was totally isolated. We did not hear any noise from the cabins, nor see the other guests, but we would have liked the isolation.
Our cabin this year was similar in style to Suprise, with 2 bedrooms and baths - one upstairs and one down. The layout of the West Virginian first floor bedroom was much better than Suprise. We had a lot more room to walk around - this was very nice. The cabin had real coffee and filters, sugar and sweetner, along with a selection of spices and foils/wraps stocked for us. The gas logs were nice because the temperature dropped several nights and it was nice to sit by the fire. The logs heated the cabin quickly, and the heatpump was not needed. Each queen sized bed had a blanket and two pillows, with spares in the closet. The bed was firm and comfortable.The pillows were firm too. There were lots of towels and washcloths in the bathroom. I would have liked more luxorious towels, but these were clean and in good shape and dried quickly. The shower was hot and the pressure was acceptable. We did not use the flat screen TV or DVR, but the list of channels seemed long, and instructions were provided. The hot tub was clean and set at 104 degrees. The cabin was clean, but not spotless - the kitchen table did not feel clean when we arrived. We also had a small mouse visitor - which we reported to the office. We had a wonderful week, and the cabin was great. We absolutely will return here next time we are in the area - but we will ask for one of the cabins towards the back of the property.

The road on the property is dirt with gravel, and has been very well maintained, so Our Camry had no problems getting arournd. Each cabin has a lightpost and there are lightposts at each turnoff on the property.

Room Tip: Cabins toward the back of the property are more isolated which provides more of a backwoods feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful..the cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed..the hot tub was nice and clean..location was great we will go back for another get away.staff was very friendly and very helpful. It was worth the time and money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They made my experience with them amazingly perfect:) My wife and I went for our 1 year anniversary and they helped make it affordable, helped make it worht the 6 hour drive, and even set up pictures of us i sent them in the mail throughout the cabin. It was just an amazing experience and wouldn't have changed it for the world! Very nice staff to boot! We also had plenty of essentials in the cabin ready for food and romance. Thanks so much Country Roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Marathon cabin. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! The cabins are very nice and are fully furnished. Even the kitchen came stocked w/ everything but the food (which you can request if you like). The area is so quiet and serene. We can't wait to come back. The only complaint we had was the master bed was very lump (but they have assured us that are replacing it w/ a brand new bed and were unaware of the lumpiness) and we couldn't pick up their wifi due to low to no signal..... but this trip wasnt fo rinterent browsing so it wasnt an issue :)

We also took a stroll through the area and there is a good distance between most cabins, but they all look similarly constructed. THey all look nice and have hot tubs :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenandPaul0143, Owner at Country Road Cabins, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit again soon!
Yes, we have a brand new KING bed upgrade due next week and
a new wireless router for better internet reception! They'll be here for you to
enjoy during your next arrival. Thanks for your comments.
See ya soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barton,oh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

me and my wife stayed at the appalacian cabin and was so happy with it we are bringing our kids with us in 2 weeks so that they to can experience how wonderful these cabins are.Our stay was quite peacefull and relaxing.Cabin was well kept clean and had every thing u will need to enjoy yourself.We couldn't get enough of the hottub.In fact there are to many things to write about and have no complaints what so ever.These cabins are very well maintained very nice and the only thing there missing is YOU lol.we will definetly be back again and again.

Room Tip: all cabins are big and roomy ask for a cabin that is a lil succlooded
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My girlfriends and I plan a “Birthday Getaway” every year. This year we decided to embrace a more secluded getaway (and we allowed the men to join us this year) Our cabin (Pillow Rock) was the perfect fit. 3 bedrooms/baths, hot tub, gas grill, plenty of space for the group, easy access to grocery, restaurants, and other local attractions.. More importantly we explored a few of the local attractions one being the Visitors Center in Lansing and encountered an incredible staff. 5 out of 6 in our group were really reserved about the “Bridge Tour” but once the tour was completed there were NO regrets. We are already planning another visit to the same cabin in Oct for the “Bridge Day Festival” and know we can’t go wrong. Absolute recommendation…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.