We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Road Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Road Cabins
Save Saved
You added Country Road Cabins to your Saves list
1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Athens, WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our 4th stay at CRC. Each time we have stayed in a different cabin, and everyone has been great. The cabins have everything anyone could need. Valley View had a actual wood burning fireplace, which was rather cozy on a cold winter night. The separation between cabins is just right. Hot tub under the covered deck is very relaxing. Also, the staff is always very easy to work with on getting a cabin at the last minute. Can't wait to be there again!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the second time that my boyfriend and I have stayed at Country Roads Cabin. The first time we staying in Marathon and the second time Valley View. Both cabins were similar except Valley View had a wood burning fireplace that we really enjoyed. Staying here is so peaceful and relaxing. I would highly recommend going for a weekend and getting away from it all. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the Almost Heaven cabin and got there just after the Sandy snow storm. Fortunately power was restored in part of the property and the snow removed from the driveways by the time we arrived. The cabin was perfect in all respects and exceeded our expectations. Terrific service from the office staff who bent over backwards to accommodate us.
We only suggested they might want to delete "Almost" from the name of the cabin:)
We're going back.
John

Room Tip: They're all great, just pick the size cabin that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great to stay in a log cabin in the woods and yet have many of the conveniences of home (dishwasher, washer/dryer, Dish TV, central air). Great location, well equiped and maintained. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Marathon Cabin was so cozy and remote! We were literally in the middle of the woods with complete privacy. The cabin was spotless and furnishings were in like-new condition. The hot tub was superb! Ha ha! We were both surprised to read a posting on the back porch that stressed the fact each hot tub is drained & cleaned between guests. I'm not 100% sure that is the practice in Ohio as we have stayed at one or two that were questionable - but Marathon's hot tub was crystal clear. We lucked out and had a gorgeous weekend weather-wise - the trees were beautiful! We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The cabin was everything they claimed it to be. Nice, clean cabin in a secluded location, but not to far away from our rafting outfitter (Adventures on the Gorge). Staff was helpful and easy going. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I love, love , love this place. My husband and I go every year. It's either just us, or the kids and us. I love how everything feels so at home here. We found it by mistake several years back, and have been calling it "home" ever since. I highly recommend anyone who hasn't stayed. The Emails from staff are promt on your stay, and so are phone calls. The Cabins are stocked with everything you would need, and the decor is so homey, and country, which is what we look for when we need a get away. It's tucked away pretty deep, but there are people on the grounds checking on things often, which makes me feel safer. Beautiful place to be in the Fall. You won't forget it once you stay, and you will continue coming back like we do. Once a year just isn't enough!!

Room Tip: Rooms vary. It's your choice if you want a big house, or a smaller one. You can't go wrong w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Road Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Road Cabins

Address: 1508 Sunday Road, Hico, WV 25854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Hico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe West Virginia Log CabinsGreat Cabins Minutes from the New River Gorge are Perfect for West Virginia GetawaysPreferred by Vacationers Enjoying Canopy Tours, Rafting the New River and Gauley River, for Romantic Getaways, Family Reunions and more.We are located near Hico, just north of Fayetteville, right in middle of West Virginia's best outdoor recreation!Our cabins are within minutes of National and State Recreation Areas: New River Gorge, Gauley River, Summersville Lake, Babcock State Park, Hawks Nest State Park and Carnifex Ferry Battleground State Park, and the new Summit Bechtel Scout Reserve. Since 1996, owners Paul and Jennifer Breuer have built and managed this select group of 18 private deluxe log cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Road Cabins Hotel Hico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Road Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.