We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woods

The Woods
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hedgesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Woods
Save Saved
You added The Woods to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Road, Hedgesville, WV 25427   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for three nights while home in DC was without electricity. It was perfect. Great room, very light and clean. Nice, friendly staff. Great golf courses -- really terrific, especially for the price. Even worth going golfing here, if just for a day trip. Beautiful views, deep woods. A great find. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just stayed the weekend at The Woods.This was our third visit. We have been there in October, March and now late June. We love it. The only reason we didn't give it a rating of 5 is because there is no longer a full service restaurant on the property. It closed in March. While they do have a small restaurant at the golf course, the reviews I saw on Trip Advisor were not too great. We did not eat there. There was a refrigerator in our room, so we took sandwiches and snacks for our lunch the first day. The rooms are spacious and look just like the picture on their website. While they show some wear for their age, our room was very clean and acceptable.

The resort has nice outdoor tennis courts, one indoor court, two outdoor pools, one indoor pool, exercise room, spa and two golf courses (one mid-length). We hung out at the pool near the activity center. It was very nice. You need to take your own towels, snacks and drinks. The other pool is by the golf course 2 miles up the road. It looked great too. We played the full length golf course. It was in great shape. We have played the smaller course in the past too. Both are fun.

All the staff we had contact with were very attentive and nice.

We went into Berkeley Springs (15 min drive on Rt.9) for dinner. We ate at the Ambrae House. The food was awesome! We arrived after 9 pm and they still served us. They also had live music on the deck.

On Sunday we ate at the Country Roads Restaurant along Rt 9 (approx. 3 miles from the resort). It was not spectacular but decent enough that we would go back. It is the closest alternative to the restaurant at the golf course. The food was average, served hot and we had good service.

We will definitely go back to The Woods again. The biggest drawback is the closed full service restaurant. They are hoping to sell it, so maybe someday there will be one open again.

Room Tip: For families with small children, ask for the units closest to the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The place is a little run down and the least clean of the 14 rooms we stayed in on this trip from NY to New Mexico & back. It wasn't dirty, just a bit dusty (and the other places were immaculate - kudos to America's housekeepers). The in-room fireplace was shut off for the season, which was disappointing, and the path around the pond was knee-deep in duck poop. The area around is so pretty and deer are everywhere. I didn't not like it - I just thought it was average.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A group of 16 women have been going to the Woods for 10 years. We love the cottages and the golf course is fantastic. The staff is always so helpful and accommodating. We look forward to next May!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker HIll
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Woods. It was the best pedicure I had ever experienced. The foot/leg massage was WONDERFUL. The staff are always so kind and friendly. The cottage is cozy and quite comfortable. Everything is clean and well stocked! It was a great place to celebrate with friends. The atmosphere is very relaxing and beautiful out there!!! I am ready for a return trip!!!

Room Tip: The cottages are beautiful, comfortable, clean, and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg WV
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We just celebrated a surprise 40th birthday at our favorite Meadow House & it goes with out saying that is was a blast and the perfect location! This is the best place for girls weekend or anytime get-away! We love the fact that it has 4 bedrooms with 4 bathrooms...I mean what more could you ladies want? Not to mention the great kitchen,huge deck,large yard....and oh the best amenity...the gas fireplace.....oh & the great girls at the spa! We all decided we want to spend all of our birthdays here....wow that could work out to be a monthy visit!!! Awesome!

Room Tip: Meadow House!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We often have a girls' weekend at one of the The Woods' meadow houses. They have updated the furniture and made some nice improvements. We love the pedicures, facials, and massages at the Spa! They are wonderful! We always have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods

Address: Mountain Lake Road, Hedgesville, WV 25427
Location: United States > West Virginia > Hedgesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Hedgesville
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods is a golf community in West Virginia that features year-round recreation and private home rentals. Those renting homes through The Woods have access to two outdoor swimming pools, tennis, an award-winning championship golf course (Mountain View), a mid-length golf course (Stony Lick), the Sleepy Creek Spa and a Sports Center featuring indoor swimming, tennis, racquetball and a fully equipped fitness room. The property is adjacent to the 23,000-acre Sleepy Creek Wildlife Management Area and is just 90 miles from the Washington D.C. And Baltimore metropolitan areas. Food service and Saturday entertainment are offered at the Clubhouse Grille & Pub. Each property is unique. WiFi is available at some, but not all properties. Please inquire about accessibility issues as not all properties are accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Woods Hotel Hedgesville
Woods Hotel Hedgesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.