We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Resort and Spa
Save
You added Creekside Resort and Spa to your Saves list
196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Needing a break from our hectic lives, we found a quiet paradise in Wild & Wonderful West Virginia at Creekside Resort. Nestled beside a small picturesque river, and surrounded by forested mountains and hiking trails we found a rural heaven. The four nights we spent in the cozy and comfortable farmhouse was quiet and peaceful - no TVs, no radios, no computers! Our room was spacious and included an air conditioner and a fan, our private bathroom was across the hall. The bed was relaxing and featured lovely bed linens. The gourmet breakfast was included in the reasonable daily rates, and were ample and most delicious. We took advantage of the dinner plans offered, which were cooked right there in the farmhouse kitchen, and were left for us to enjoy whenever we wanted each evening. Each delicious gourmet meal included a bottle of wine, appetizers, salad, and main entree, along with a wonderful dessert. We could dine inside in a dining room, or on the screened porch, or out on a choice of three decks. We mostly chose the screened porch so we could watch the hundreds of fireflys and a number of deer families in the surrounding grounds. Peace and quiet to the max! One day they even put together a gourmet lunch with wine in a backpack, which we enjoyed after a walk along the river - delightful! It was worth the extra cost. The hospitality we received from the staff was wonderful and we would love to go back and stay in one of the cottages.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartnersOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

The first thing to say abotu Creekside is it is family run and at the same time very professional. The location and site are beautiful and the walks we did are very pretty - woulod be good to see more longer walks appearing over time.
Creekside is not cheap and luckily the quality is very high and the service excellent. But probably not the best value place we have satyed in.

We stayed in redbud cottage which was very comfortable and the family have a very good attitude to recycling and the environment which is great to see.

We stayed for two nights and breakfast was provided. It was very nice but it was a basket of items in the fridge for both mornings which we felt was perhaps a little sheap considering how much we paid.

Nothing wrong with it at all just a bit less than other places we had stayed.

Other than that the facilities were excellent and we had a lovely time in the pool with the owner and her grandchildren (we were playing some ball throwing game, the rules of which were only known the the children and so we got thumped!!!).

The birdwatching was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishbel_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Tucked away in a rural and scenic area of southern West Virginia, a visit to Creekside Resort is an opportunity to get away from the busyness and distractions of everyday life and relax, read a book, hike and enjoy the hospitality of the Inn’s proprietors. I have stayed at two of the smaller cottages. They are simple- no TV’s or phone- and impeccably clean. The bedding is of good quality and very comfortable. Although I generally do not leave the resort, Lewisburg, about a 45 minute drive, is a delightful town for window shopping and some good restaurants.

Creekside Resort is a family operation. I have been vacationing at the resort since the facilities were operated by Natalie, the mother of the present proprietors. After Natalie retired, her daughters took over the operation of Creekside. They have made significant improvements to the physical facilities and amenities, making a pleasant experience even more enjoyable. Perhaps the biggest change is the addition of limited meal service. All the food is skillfully prepared with the finest ingredients and attractively presented.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We live in the area and wanted to have a special extended family celebration over Thanksgiving. Creekside was perfect. We were able to rent a combination of cozy units that fit our group (including my sister's dog), and our celebration took place both at our home and at Creekside. Everyone loved drifting down to the farmhouse for those delicious breakfasts and friendly conversations, as well as relaxing in the hot tubs after a 'work day' on our place splitting wood and clearing brambles. It was a great way to be together in a beautiful setting, but at the same time be able to enjoy the privacy of your own cottage. Even in late fall it was beautiful to walk the trails. Don't miss the high meadow trail views!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank clearview00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Farmhouse. We greatly enjoyed the meals and hiking the local trails on the grounds and elsewhere. (There's a great trail to an old fire lookout tower--directions are in the info packet.) Everything the other reviews say about the beauty of the ground and helpfulness of the staff is true. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientphilosopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My college friends and I had a reunion weekend there-it was so nice and peaceful there. They had dinner in our cabin warming until we got there after a long drive from Northern Virginia, and it was one of the best lasagnas ever! The spa services were some of the best I have experienced and the food was absolutely delicious! The cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for what we needed. No frills, just simple and clean. My only regret is that we were not able to stay longer. In addition, all the hostesses were extremely helpful and worked hard to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradise_sought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Monroe County, West Virginia is a quiet agricultural area with a rich history dating to Colonial times. Creekside Resort and Spa is located on an historic farm with very attractive views. Kelley and Becky treated us as family and went out of their way to help us find local sites, provided a tour of the property, and assisted us in obtaining emergency auto service. Although the breakfast basket package included with our stay was relatively simple, it was quite tasty, nutritious, and filling. We also had lunch overlooking Indian Creek. It was outstanding! If your plans permit, be sure to stay for several days to take full advantage of the relaxing environment. Overall, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
14.0 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
24.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
23.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Resort and Spa

Address: 196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945
Location: United States > West Virginia > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Resort and Spa offers its guests 200 acres of natural beauty. The Farmhouse Inn provides lodging and delicious fresh local cuisine for guests from our gardens and orchard. Cottages of various sizes offer hot tubs, fire stoves and fully equipped kitchens. Spa services, pool, hiking trails, and fishing in creek and pond are available to all guests. We coordinate all-inclusive weddings, small conferences and retreats. Family owned and operated. Environmentally responsible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing