We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Eden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Resort and Spa
196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Greenville
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Little Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We took a small chance based only on a family recommendation and the web site, but nothing prepared us for this calming oasis. Although we only had one night, we got a real sense of of the trails, the meals delivered to the cabins (with many local touches) and the deer. It's great as it is, but apparently wine tastings, writer retreats and other activities are on the horizon for those who can't sit still without accomplishing something. That's fine. At 200 acres, there's room for all types. We'll be back. -- Michael and Kathleen

Room Tip: Dogwood Cottage was perfect, with two bedrooms, a hot dog and a secluded location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so glad to hear that Creekside exceeded your expectations! It is good to know that Woodside was comfortable for you and your friends and that you enjoyed the hot tub as well. (I think that was an auto correct on your phone as we know you didn't have a hot dog for dinner!) You certainly managed to do and see a lot for a short stay---and we expect you will enjoy it even more when you are able to come back for a longer, more relaxed one. Thanks so much for sharing your experience with others! We'd hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sometimes you need to unplug, get away from the world, enjoy some peace and quiet, and take in the beauty of nature. Creekside Resort is the PERFECT place for that! I stayed in Dogwood Cottage, which was charming and serene. There were a lot of wonderful little personal touches, from the books and classical CDs, canldles by the big soaking tub, the little jar in the bathroom full of cotton balls and swabs, and the vase of fresh lilacs on the dresser. The two nights I spent there were some of the best sleep I've had in a long time. The setting of the resort is absolutely gorgeous, with beautiful creek and nice walking and hiking paths. The spa is heavenly, and I received the most wonderful massage and facial. The food is top notch. You can eat in the dining room in the Farmhouse, or, if staying in one of the cottages, have it delivered to your cottage. And lastly, the staff is amazing and friendly. Kelley, Gail, and Gary treated me like family. It truly was a perfect weekend, and I HIGHLY recommend Creekside Resort and Spa to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so very glad to hear that your time was so refreshing! Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srd77
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Found Creekside Resort online while looking for something within driving distance of Columbus, OH (which took us about 5 1/2 hours with a couple stops along the way). Everything was just as we pictured based on the website.
We stayed in the Cozy Cottage (which was great because we had packed a few things to keep in the kitchen and the cottage was spacious enough for us to spread out), and it just happened that we were the only guests in that portion of the resort, which worked out perfectly! After being greeted by Kelly, we met Gary and Gail in the Farmhouse. They arranged the time to serve us dinner that evening. We then enjoyed some late day sun by the pool with a few glasses of wine. We had dinner in the Farmhouse (we had planned on having it on one of the many porches, but that late day sun gave way to some cool evening breezes). Dinner was good....make sure you save room for dessert. We were there the weekend of the Kentucky Derby and Gary set up a table for us to set up our laptop to enjoy our appetizer and watch the race (there is wi-fi in the Farmhouse). That was as far as we got with the technology over the weekend...which was the point of getting away!
We opted for the breakfast basket...it was packed for 2 mornings (for our whole stay) and was great. We got to choose from fritatta's, baked oatmeal (yummy), yogurt with homemade granola (even yummier), english muffins, fruit and homemade breads, jams and apple butter, along with orange juice. The next day we hiked Trail 2 and 3. It was a great way to start the day. Trail 3, as they tell you, is tough, but the moutain views you get once you reach the top cannot be beat. Give it a try.
My husband and I opted to drive to The Greenbrier that afternoon. It was about a 40 minute drive and was a great way to enjoy the W VA landscape and spend the afternoon. That evening, we packed our own dinner of cheese, crackers, meats and fruit with some wine. We took it over to the Farmhouse and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Our last morning there, we enjoyed coffee and breakfast on the porch.
Creekside Resort is definitely a great place for a little R&R...peaceful and beautiful. This was our first visit to this area of the country and we had a wonderful time. We hope this wasn't our last visit to Creekside and WVA!

Room Tip: Cozy Cottage gave us a little more space as well as the kitchenette area. We packed our own food for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Hearing that you had a wonderful time is what makes us happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a hidden gem of West Virginia. A better place to relax, unwind and renew yourself will not be found. Beautiful setting and convenient to so many historical places. A real must stay place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks so much! We are so glad to know that you had a good stay for your anniversary---and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Creekside Resort and Spa for our 20th Anniversary. Our goal was to get away from it all, and we picked the perfect place for it. Although there are many beautiful places to stay in WV, I would recommend Creekside to everyone. We chose to stay in the Garden View Suite in the Farmhouse. The room was beautifully furnished and was so cozy and welcoming. To my surprise my husband had arranged to have a bouquet of 20 roses, a box of chocolates, bottle of champagne, and a hand written card all waiting for me upon arrival- which are some of the special services offered to guests.
We chose to eat dinner in Union the first night which was our only mistake all weekend.
Gail and Gary, provide such warm service and conversation to all of the guests, they make you feel like you are visiting family. The breakfasts were delicious, all wholesome products- mostly grown on the premises. We had dinner at the Farmhouse Saturday night. We were the only couple who chose dinner that night, so we had a 4 course meal cooked and service for us alone- really a personal chef and waiter? Even though we prevented Gail and Gary from having the evening off they could not have been more accomodating. We enjoyed every dish prepared for both breakfast and dinner, Gail is a wonderful cook!
We spent all of our time on the property- walking all three trails, and the views were breathtaking especially since we managed to stay during the peak time for the leaves changing. We enjoyed nature, and each other all weekend, which was exactly our goal. I cannot think of any better place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Garden View is the only room in the Farmhouse with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are so glad to know that you had such an enjoyable time for such a very special occasion!
Thanks for deciding to come spend your anniversary at Creekside. We hope you will be able to come back and enjoy the trails and natural beauty in their spring loveliness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed one might at Creekside Resort and Spa on our way down to Florida from Toronto, Canada. Our only complaint is that we could not stay longer! We had already driven 11 hours when we arrived at the resort and although exhausted, we were totally inspired by the staff who welcomed us, by the beautiful and peaceful surroundings as well as by our comfortable and so elegantly furnished room. Upon our arrival, we went for a stroll along the creek and were amazed at the serene and quiet scene. We then had drinks and hors d'oeuvres on one of the patios and then diner in the dining room.The meal was obviously prepared with much love with local ingredients as explained by Gary. Needless to say, we slept like a rock as the bed was so comfortable and the environment so quiet. As we had to depart quite early the next day, Gail and Gary were very accommodating and prepared us a wonderful breakfast. Figaro, the property's cat resident, escorted us out as if saying, so long and please come back soon! which we hope to do in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Indian Creekside room which was bigger than anticipated. The bed was really comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that the rest of your trip to Florida and back home was also relaxing and wonderful! We certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have never before written a negative review about a rude vendor or inadequate service, but I’m compelled to write one about Creekside Resort in Greenville, WV. From the moment we decided not to use Creekside’s personal vendors (optional) for my daughter’s wedding, we were treated with disdain. My lodging of $458.08 per night (2-night minimum) was outdated with slanted floors, old shag carpet, and very few towels/washcloths. No cell phone coverage, internet, or TV service for guests. Closest town was 12 miles if you wanted snacks, lunch, or newspapers. Note: the entire wedding had to be paid in full long before the wedding even occurred. I was not able to cancel this vendor because they do not allow any refunds of payments once you commit. Our invited guests comprised of an architect; a heart surgeon; several military officers; a cardiac nurse; two school principals; a college professor, high school teachers; administrators; business owners; politicians; and a pilot, to name a few. Whether it’s common practice or whether it was intentional by Creedside’s coordinator, my guests were insulted and inconvenienced when no ice was placed in any glasses at reception nor was any beverage filled with water or tea. Why should a paying customer have to ask for coffee to be prepared and served and dessert spoons and plates be provided at the reception simply because we didn’t use Creekside’s vendor for our wedding cake? The entire experience provided by Creekside Resort was highly costly and disappointing with no attention to detail. This is not the first large social event I have been involved with, but it will certainly be my last as a customer or a guest at Creekside Resort in Greenville, WV. In today’s economy vendors should never “burn their bridges” when serving the buying public.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
As I assured your daughter (who wrote the other completely negative and very inaccurate review of this same wedding) the responses that I and my staff received from your guests at the wedding were very complimentary of the service, food and the resort in general. Indeed, I am happy to say that the bride and groom thanked me with hugs when they left and I believe they understood at that time that we had worked very hard to help them have a successful wedding celebration.
This wedding received the same attention, service and efforts from myself and the rest of the Creekside staff as the weddings who have praised us so highly in their reviews. The fact we have not received the same thanks for this wedding would seem to be due to other factors. I will simply note here for the benefit of those reading that a deduction for damages was required for this wedding and let readers draw their own conclusions about the motivation for these attacking reviews. Further attacking reviews will but confirm the nature of this motivation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creekside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Resort and Spa

Address: 196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945
Location: United States > West Virginia > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Resort and Spa offers its guests 200 acres of natural beauty. The Farmhouse Inn provides lodging and delicious fresh local cuisine for guests from our gardens and orchard. Cottages of various sizes offer hot tubs, fire stoves and fully equipped kitchens. Spa services, pool, hiking trails, and fishing in creek and pond are available to all guests. We coordinate all-inclusive weddings, small conferences and retreats. Family owned and operated. Environmentally responsible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Greenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Creekside Resort and Spa to your Saves list