We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, natural escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Resort and Spa
Save
You added Creekside Resort and Spa to your Saves list
196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Barboursville, WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magical, natural escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved this place! We were looking for a quiet, family friendly escape for a weekend away. We brought our 2 year old and our 9 month old, and stayed in one of the cottages. The resort is in a quiet farming community with beautiful scenery. The grounds are incredibly well kept and there is a wide, beautiful creek running through. There is a quaint farmhouse where they serve breakfast and dinner (really yummy food) and there's a swimming pool there also. Lots of great opportunities to walk the grounds, drive country roads, play in the creek, or just sit outside by the pool. The cottage was really comfortable. It was rustic, but well equipped. They have organic, sophisticated decor with a homey feel. Ours had a covered deck area just off the kitchen with chaise lounges and a table and chairs. This is where we spent most of our time. It had a long deck running along the side of the cabin where our son loved to ride his bike. My parents picked up the kids for us and my husband and I were able to have a couples massage at the spa. It was a great experience and a great value. Would definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luna_304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Creekside so much and we thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience. We certainly hope that you will return again and become one of those guests who come regularly for some refreshment of body and soul. Many thanks for your appreciation of this place and our efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding we recently attended. The scenery is beautiful but the place is dreadfully boring.

The resort is in the middle of no where (took us 4 hours from Richmond by car) and it offers no cell reception, internet access or television. The property is sprawling, so if you're there with a large party you have to drive to visit other folks in their cabins.

The cabins themselves are a bit worn and outdated. Our cabin was very musty with views of the trees (nothing spectacular). The bedrooms did have air conditioning (the only perk) but were carpeted in old carpeting and furnished with saggy beds. We requested a pack-n-play for our young nephew but he was unable to use it because it had fecal stains in it.

The breakfast that was served at the farmhouse was very disappointing. We were served some sort of bread/egg bake with coffee and yoghurt. There were no eggs or any kind of meat.

The accommodation rate as well as the spa service rates all seemed ridiculously overpriced for such a remote rural area (I've been to resorts in Maine that were a better value and quality).

Unless you're purposefully looking for isolation I would pass. The roads in the area are just as windy as the Amalfi coast, but sadly they lack the Amalfi coast.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fitchnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreeksideResort, General Manager at Creekside Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at Creekside. Evidently the rural beauty and peacefulness that so many find refreshing at Creekside were not what you were seeking on this stay. It is understandable that, as the lodging was reserved by other members of your family and you probably did not choose us yourself, we might not have been exactly what you were wanting. It is also understandable that since you were attending a wedding in a different location from the resort and a reception in still another location, there was more driving on mountain roads in your weekend than you enjoyed. Many people who visit Creekside enjoy walking on our trails and exploring the natural world here, and it is evident that you did not come for this experience and did not have time to enjoy it.
We are also sorry to hear that you did not find breakfast to your liking. We received many compliments on breakfast from other members of your group. Unfortunately, it seems that you missed some of the other breakfast options that were offered. In addition to the French toast strata that had a choices of toppings including a praline topping, maple syrup and/or sautéed apples and the organic vanilla yoghurt, there was fresh fruit and four kinds of home baked breakfast breads. Scrambled eggs were served to guests throughout the morning upon request. On the second morning of your stay a frittata omelet was served with local sausage, as well as baked oatmeal. Since you didn’t mention that breakfast, perhaps you left early and did not have breakfast with us that morning.
We do apologize that there was a stain in the pack-n-play at the cottage. Our housekeeping team felt very bad about that oversight. Our analysis of the stain indicates that it was juice from a baby bottle. We have removed that item from service as the stain does not seem to be removable. If this problem had been brought to our attention at the time, however, we would have made a substitution. As no mention was made at the time, we were unable to correct the problem. We apologize for any inconvenience.
We appreciate you sharing your views on your stay with us and we are sorry that we could not please you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet 5 day retreat at Creekside. We stayed in the Farm house.The staff was outstanding, and extremely accomodating. The meals were fresh, tasty and healthy. Our trek along the Greenbrier River Trail was picturesque. We will be visiting again.
Rick and Terri

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Creekside Resort was the perfect choice for a weekend reunion with three of my college friends. We stayed in the Firefly cabin which was perfect with two baths and comfy beds, plus a full kitchen, wood burning stove, deck and sunporch for relaxing woodland viewing. Gail and Kelley were wonderful in helping organize time for all of us at the spa. We spent one morning hiking the three trails that cover the farm. The longest trail is more challenging, but worth it for the amazing views of mountain tops. Following the hiking, was spa time. We all had a variety of massages and facials with the Rose facial being the favorite. We had a breakfast basket delivered to our cottage one morning and went to the farmhouse on the weekend for breakfast. All meals were delicous and full of local produce. Lewisburg is not far and was the best for lunch and some unique shopping. We had one dinner at the farmhouse and it was also delicious with warm candlelight and friendly, personal service. I would highly recommend Creekside to all who want a peaceful, stressfree and relaxing getaway. It is perfect for couples, so I hope to get my husband there next!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin. They can be viewed online so you get a pretty good idea of what you are getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Had a really enjoyable 2 night break at Creekside as a little diversion from a Blue Ridge road trip.
Check-in experience was good with lots of local knowledge.
We stayed in the Dogwood cabin which was extremely comfortable and cosy (even with a strange bath set-up in the main room). Was good to have the fire and back up electric fire as the nights were cool.
We had dinner delivered one night. Some really fresh salad and great bread. Must say the chicken was a little dry and bland.
Breakfasts in the main farmhouse were delicious and plentiful.
Would highly recommend trail #3, a beautiful walk on which we saw deer, lots of butterflies and a turtle!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Creekside Resort is a little paradise. The service was phenonmenal, the food amazing, and the scenery was breathtaking. We spent three days in one of the small cottages and never left the property. There are three hikes you can take from Creekside that are challenging and lots of fun. We used the pool, read and relaxed on the patio. I would recommend this resort and hope to get back there in the future. The cottage had all of the amenities we needed. It was clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

From the moment we booked our trip with Creekside right up until checkout, we had first class treatment all the way. We have travelled the world over & never had such a high level of customer service. Kelley & Gail were extremely resposive to our questions while providing most helpful information to make the most of our stay at the Resort as well as tips for things to do in the area. My five-year-old son absolutely loved the swimming pool, and creek to fish in. We were able to bring our dog with us & stayed in one of the pet friendly cottages which was ideal. Our dog was able to accompany us on our hikes as well as swim in the creek on the property. Our breakfasts at the Farmhouse Inn each morning were outstanding, and we felt like we were dining with family. Angie is the best massage therapist ever & provided the most soothing treatment in a most serene atmosphere. Our only complaint was the unusually high heat & humidity which was beyond Creekside's control, however, we were moved to one of the air conditioned suites for our last night's stay (without even asking) even though it was not usually open to pets or small children due to being above the spa. This willingness to accommodate us and level of concern for our comfort is what sets Creekside apart from other places. We do plan to return perhaps during the fall or spring next time. The homemade chocolates were also delicious! Thank you for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktaylor339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
14.0 mi away
Mountain Lake Lodge
Mountain Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
23.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
23.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
23.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Resort and Spa

Address: 196 Creekside Drive, Greenville, WV 24945
Location: United States > West Virginia > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Resort and Spa offers its guests 200 acres of natural beauty. The Farmhouse Inn provides lodging and delicious fresh local cuisine for guests from our gardens and orchard. Cottages of various sizes offer hot tubs, fire stoves and fully equipped kitchens. Spa services, pool, hiking trails, and fishing in creek and pond are available to all guests. We coordinate all-inclusive weddings, small conferences and retreats. Family owned and operated. Environmentally responsible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing