We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Ferris Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Ferris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Ferris Inn
U S Route 60, Glen Ferris, WV 25090   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times - it is a quaint old hotel that was built in 1800's. The room are very clean. We have stayed in the same room all 3 time I have been here -
The restaurant is by far one of the best things, we ate both breakfast and dinner there.
I look forward staying here again -

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenup, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Glen Ferris Inn. This was my 4th stay at the Inn. Wonderful suite with large wrap around porch on the second floor. Beautiful views of the mountains and New River. Kanawha Falls is directly behind the Inn. The food was excellent as always! Plus we were there during German Fest. An excellent place to relax. I would recommend a trip to the Glen ferris Inn for the food, history, and scenic beauty that will surround you. All staff members were very nice and service was outstanding!!! We will return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athalia,ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we have had a great lunch at the inn again.we live 90 miles away and love to antique shop and stop for lunch or early dinner at the inn.we have been there about ten times.dining room service is very attentive and pleasant.food is great,we havent stayed but would love to, it is very cozy in the lobby and is such a nice atmosphere all around

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Vintage decor makes the hotel (build in the early 1800s) charming and cozy. The room we had was small but nicely decorated in the period style. Chintz and lace - and ladder back rush seat chairs at a small table for two. Our room looked out on the New River and the mountains. There is a very nice deck with chairs where you can sit and watch the river and the mountains.
The stay was adequate. The towels somewhat thin - and it is true what another reviews said - the pillows are really flat. But there was a second pillow in the closet that was much fuller - and that combined with the flat pillow gave one of us a good night's sleep.
No hair dryer - so bring your own.
Wi-fi is spotty - I could not get it to work in the sitting room - the only place it is available.
Help is just friendly enough to not be rude - but no more.
Place is clean and for the price, a good stay.
And the location is wonderful - right in the midst of the New River Gorge and an easy drive to the bridge, falls and other sights.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the first floor looking out at the river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

In taking a 72 mile drive on Route 60 off the interstate today (for the purpose of getting off the highway and seeing some beautiful scenery), this was the only fine dining spot I could easily see from the road during almost the whole drive. I did not stay overnight, but had lunch there, and the food was very good with some particularly nice touches, such as the prime rib with vegetable soup and the potato chips being homemade to order. Served in a very pretty and historic looking dining room with very friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glen Ferris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ferris Inn

Address: U S Route 60, Glen Ferris, WV 25090
Location: United States > West Virginia > Glen Ferris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ferris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Ferris Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glen Ferris Inn to your Saves list