We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson's Motel

Thompson's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thompson's Motel
Save Saved
You added Thompson's Motel to your Saves list
Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Franklin B&B and Inns
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for a softball game, I thought it was very nice. Contact the office if you're going to check in past 10pm because that's when they close, they can make arrangements for your key. The rooms were large for only $57, front and back doors! Pretty balcony. Nice little country restaurant called the Fireside Cafe with a little craft store in it (places like this is who the Bob Evans chain tries to copy :) If we play Pendleton High School again, we'll definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wash DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good stop when motorcycling through WV on a budget. In can be busy on the weekends during summer season so you may want to make a reservation during peak travel times. Family style eating / breakfast right next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found this motel after traveling for awhile and not finding any town to stay in. It turned out to be a reminder of the motels we stayed in growing up in the 60's. Nothing fancy but clean and priced right. The management was extremely helpful and friendly. Very easy to get right back on the main road to get to Seneca Rocks and other attractions for hiking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I happened across Thompson's while doing some leaf-peeping in the WV mountains. We arrived at 8:30 at night, dog tired. The lady in the office was very pleasant when I checked in. I asked if there was a microwave in the room, since we had brought along a cooler of frozen dinners to eat. She said no, but we could use the one the staff uses in her office if we wanted to! We thought that was very nice, but opted to ask about any local places. She referred us to Fox's Pizza and Subs, right up the road. The pizza was great! Our room was okay for $42 a night. No frills, but clean. If we're back that way again, we would stay there in a pinch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Thompson Hotel, is a good stay for the money, it's in a very pretty setting, the room was clean other than the carpet, but to be fair, many trout fisherman stay there & do not remove their waders before going in, but the rest of the room was clean. We loved sitting on the veranda. There is a excellent restaurant a few steps away. There are few hotels or restaurants in Franklin, but we would definitely stay there again, the people from the hotel & restaurant were very friendly. It's a beautiful steeped in history.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach SC - USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the best motel in this small, hid-away nice town. NOTHING fancy, but reasonable price ($49-$59 off season), all 1st floor, large rooms. Generally very clean, especially the bathroom, but the room carpet needs GOOD cleaning / replacement, as does the chair cushions. The beds are clean, but much to hard for us.

Front desk service is "functional" but not friendly, as I expected here. Had to buy a calling card for phone calls .. UNLESS you have AT&T (only) your cell is no good here. You cannot call-out on the motel phone ... at all (charge or no-charge).


Next to the FIRESIDE Restaurant, making it easy for breakfast, or any meal. Again, not GREAT food, but good food, reasonably priced.

There are 2 other small motels here, but don't look any better from outside, and Thompson's is a "known quantity" to us (son lives in the area, so we are up 2 - 3 X per year).

Room Tip: BTW, a "chain" hotel is back over the mountain in Harrissonburg VA .. about a 45 min drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I knew I was in trouble when I walked into my room and there was a refrigerator-size dehumidifier running at full speed. It ran on high all night! The room reeked of mold and mildew. The rug was absolutely filthy, slept with my shoes on. Not even an entry mat or rug to wipe your feet on when you enter from the outside where the sidewalk was wet, dirty and covered in salt. The beds must be 50 years old, the furniture was falling apart. I could go on and on. One small piece of soap, no shampoo. The towels were like old rags and tiny. There is a restaurant in the same parking lot and the breakfast there was good and cheap. The staff at both places were very friendly as well.

Admittedly, not much choice in Franklin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thompson's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson's Motel

Address: Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807
Location: United States > West Virginia > Franklin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.