We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick overnight & cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson's Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thompson's Motel
Save
You added Thompson's Motel to your Saves list
Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Franklin B&B and Inns
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for a quick overnight & cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I happened across Thompson's while doing some leaf-peeping in the WV mountains. We arrived at 8:30 at night, dog tired. The lady in the office was very pleasant when I checked in. I asked if there was a microwave in the room, since we had brought along a cooler of frozen dinners to eat. She said no, but we could use the one the staff uses in her office if we wanted to! We thought that was very nice, but opted to ask about any local places. She referred us to Fox's Pizza and Subs, right up the road. The pizza was great! Our room was okay for $42 a night. No frills, but clean. If we're back that way again, we would stay there in a pinch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The Thompson Hotel, is a good stay for the money, it's in a very pretty setting, the room was clean other than the carpet, but to be fair, many trout fisherman stay there & do not remove their waders before going in, but the rest of the room was clean. We loved sitting on the veranda. There is a excellent restaurant a few steps away. There are few hotels or restaurants in Franklin, but we would definitely stay there again, the people from the hotel & restaurant were very friendly. It's a beautiful steeped in history.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach SC - USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the best motel in this small, hid-away nice town. NOTHING fancy, but reasonable price ($49-$59 off season), all 1st floor, large rooms. Generally very clean, especially the bathroom, but the room carpet needs GOOD cleaning / replacement, as does the chair cushions. The beds are clean, but much to hard for us.

Front desk service is "functional" but not friendly, as I expected here. Had to buy a calling card for phone calls .. UNLESS you have AT&T (only) your cell is no good here. You cannot call-out on the motel phone ... at all (charge or no-charge).


Next to the FIRESIDE Restaurant, making it easy for breakfast, or any meal. Again, not GREAT food, but good food, reasonably priced.

There are 2 other small motels here, but don't look any better from outside, and Thompson's is a "known quantity" to us (son lives in the area, so we are up 2 - 3 X per year).

Room Tip: BTW, a "chain" hotel is back over the mountain in Harrissonburg VA .. about a 45 min drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I knew I was in trouble when I walked into my room and there was a refrigerator-size dehumidifier running at full speed. It ran on high all night! The room reeked of mold and mildew. The rug was absolutely filthy, slept with my shoes on. Not even an entry mat or rug to wipe your feet on when you enter from the outside where the sidewalk was wet, dirty and covered in salt. The beds must be 50 years old, the furniture was falling apart. I could go on and on. One small piece of soap, no shampoo. The towels were like old rags and tiny. There is a restaurant in the same parking lot and the breakfast there was good and cheap. The staff at both places were very friendly as well.

Admittedly, not much choice in Franklin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and my sister and brother-in-law while we attended the Highland Maple Festival. Located one county to the north, the route we took to Monterey led us past a pancake breakfast and two maple sugar farms

Negatives: The towels provided were rough, the rooms' utility faceplates and switches could use a thorough cleaning and the free wifi connections were abysmal to the point where they either were not detectable or often froze up to the point of being unusable.

Positives: Thompson's Motel provided reasonably clean and comfortable rooms at a decent price. Parking was ample and conveniently located next to the rooms. It's restaurant was conveniently open for breakfast and other meals during the weekend (I got the impression that its hours were expanded from the usual for the time of year).

Our experience at Thompson's Motel was typical for accommodations in rural sections of the country where traffic is highly seasonal and, as such, suited us perfectly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay while visiting Spruce Knob and the Mountain Institute to do some star imaging. This motel was conveniently located about 30 minutes from those locations. Although the motel is old, the room was clean, and the carpet freshly vacumed. Check-in was smooth, the desk staff courteous. There were no towel racks in our bathroom, which was a little inconvenient, but I guess they figured you weren't going to re-use them. The towels themselves were very thin and small. The soap bars are probably smaller than yours when they get so small you throw them out, but they give you several. We had breafast at the Fireside Restaurant just next door, and the experience was very pleasant. All-in-all, for the price, this was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good bargain for a decent room a short walk from the restaurant. Not loaded with amenities but half (or less) the price of places that have them. I've stayed twice now and won't hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Thompson's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson's Motel

Address: Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807
Location: United States > West Virginia > Franklin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.