We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for enjoying Highland Maple Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson's Motel

Thompson's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thompson's Motel
Save
You added Thompson's Motel to your Saves list
Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Franklin B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good base for enjoying Highland Maple Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and my sister and brother-in-law while we attended the Highland Maple Festival. Located one county to the north, the route we took to Monterey led us past a pancake breakfast and two maple sugar farms

Negatives: The towels provided were rough, the rooms' utility faceplates and switches could use a thorough cleaning and the free wifi connections were abysmal to the point where they either were not detectable or often froze up to the point of being unusable.

Positives: Thompson's Motel provided reasonably clean and comfortable rooms at a decent price. Parking was ample and conveniently located next to the rooms. It's restaurant was conveniently open for breakfast and other meals during the weekend (I got the impression that its hours were expanded from the usual for the time of year).

Our experience at Thompson's Motel was typical for accommodations in rural sections of the country where traffic is highly seasonal and, as such, suited us perfectly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay while visiting Spruce Knob and the Mountain Institute to do some star imaging. This motel was conveniently located about 30 minutes from those locations. Although the motel is old, the room was clean, and the carpet freshly vacumed. Check-in was smooth, the desk staff courteous. There were no towel racks in our bathroom, which was a little inconvenient, but I guess they figured you weren't going to re-use them. The towels themselves were very thin and small. The soap bars are probably smaller than yours when they get so small you throw them out, but they give you several. We had breafast at the Fireside Restaurant just next door, and the experience was very pleasant. All-in-all, for the price, this was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good bargain for a decent room a short walk from the restaurant. Not loaded with amenities but half (or less) the price of places that have them. I've stayed twice now and won't hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Due to the work I do, i get to find these nice little hotels. It had a clean and comfortable bed, a superb shower, and even in the back woods of West Virginia wi-fi. I did enjoy my 2 nights I stayed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

True, it is an older motel, however, for the price, it is a good value. It was clean and convenient. There is also a restaurant right there within walking distance. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The bed was very firm, but overall I have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This motel was clean without the smell of industrial strength cleaners and /or pesticides. It was reasonably priced. It didn't have a microwave or a refrigerator but there is a restaurant right next to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Older motel but well kept up and a great value. We stayed here 9/5/2010 after being in Seneca Rocks, WB and having to change motels - the motel we were at didn't have enough water to take a shower or flush the toilet. Thompson's Motel had plenty of water pressure, the room was spacious and clean with AC that worked. Bathroom looked like it had been remodeled with new vanity, shower/bath insert, new toilet and flooring. We were upstairs and our room had a back door from a parking lot and a front door onto a porch - both doors had screen doors so we could open the doors and have a lovely breeze blowing through. For a double it was $49 including tax. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thompson's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson's Motel

Address: Junction of 33 and U.S. 220, Franklin, WV 26807
Location: United States > West Virginia > Franklin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Number of rooms: 40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.