We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New River Gorge Bridge

New River Gorge Bridge
U. S. Route 19, Fayetteville, WV
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A must see if in this area. My family and I were here August 2013 and we will be back. The overlook at the bridge is beautiful and worth the short walk. There is a drive you can take too, it goes down and under the bridge across the river and back up the other side. A must do if you have time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    52
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bridgewalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Intimidating at first knowing that you are about to walk 876 feet over the ground, but it was an awesome view and worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Drive down below the bridge on the one way road to cross the river at Fayetteville Station. There is a boat launch if it is summer.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You HAVE to stop here for a look....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a fantastic place to stop, stretch your legs, and enjoy an unbelievable view of the New River Gorge bridge. It is truly spectacular. The interpretive center at the top is very interesting, even for young kids. There is a movie that shows how the bridge was built and some neat artifacts that you can pick up and examine. It really is a worthwhile stop.

Caution - there is 200 stairs down to the lookout platform for the best view. If anyone you're with has a mobility issue or heart condition best look from the top!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Longest single arch bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had only seen photos of the bridge before visiting, WOW, is all I can think of to describe it!
I loved the views from the ground looking up! I can't wait to go back. The history of the area is rich with many small nuggets to visit as well!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New River Gorge Bridge also viewed

 

Been to New River Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New River Gorge Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.