We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New River Gorge Bridge

New River Gorge Bridge
U. S. Route 19, Fayetteville, WV
Improve this listing
Type: Bridges
Attraction Details
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The stop to view the New River Gorge Bridge was well worth the time not to mention that it is totally free! Of course the views are stunning- I arrived in the mid-morning when there was still fog under the bridge. I like nature walks that get my heart pumping so I enjoyed taking the steps back up the hill- there are benches for those that want to take it slowly. In a state full of great views this one is one of the best!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    47
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
235 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
1,164 helpful votes 1,164 helpful votes
“Incredible Views - Stop at Canyon Rim Visitor's Center for Background Info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stopped here to enjoy the autumn views. It is definitely worth while to stop at the New River Gorge Visitors' Center -- there are actually two visitors' centers; the one at Canyon Rim is the better.

The Visitors' Center has a short film (about 15 minutes) that plays every half hour that provides info on the geology and history of the area, along with some info on building the bridge. There is a very small museum there also (15 minutes to walk thru) and gift shop and restrooms. The Visitors' Center is worth the stop; the film is informative, but very anti-capitalist, anti-industry, anti-logging, anti-coal, anti-people, etc (all filmed with our tax dollars).

There are a couple of paths, the one to the left leads to the upper and the lower viewing points. The upper is an easy walk, but the lower point requires about 180 steps -- not bad going down, but a bit of an effort back up. Steps are wooden and well-spaced; the only negative is that the handrail is also wooden --- i.e., splinters in your fingers or hand is a risk.

Avoid visitiing on the one weekend that the bridge is closed to allow parachute jumping. Too crowded. Otherwise, it is a beautiful area and worth the stop. Although there are many photo ops, I recommend you buy the pretty postcards and instead of focusing on photos, you just enjoy the scenery.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

It was nice to see. Love to be in nature so the walk down and back was nice.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stopped at the visitor center at the bridge not knowing what we'd see. Very cool and beautiful since we saw this in the fall. There are 2 paths to views. The one on the right is at the same level as the parking lot and an OK view. The one on the left is down steps to a better view. Yes, it's a lot of steps to climb and you'll probably be out of breath, but it's not that bad.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic view if clear air.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

If the air is clear, I stop every time through. The construction details and scope of this project are absolutely amazing when coupled with the visual. This is one of those must see to believe.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New River Gorge Bridge also viewed

 

Been to New River Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New River Gorge Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New River Gorge Bridge to your Saves list