We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayetteville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country River Inn
Save Saved
You added Country River Inn to your Saves list
9060 Gatewood Road, Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Delaware, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a nice place to get away from the hubbub of daily life. It is in a serene and natural setting where one can appreciate the pleasure of simplicity. The inn is clean and uncluttered and the innkeeper was kind and helpful. We went to this area for rafting, and this inn is very close to a base camp. There are several nice restaurants nearby, and also a mini fridge and microwave in the room for the nights that we just wanted to have sandwiches and chips and watch movies (translation: Mom was too tired to go out after a day on the river). The jetted hot tub at the inn was a nice relief for sore muscles. Overall, we had a great end-of-summer getaway here. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious, and we all especially enjoyed the company of little Polly. We would definitely come back here again to enjoy beautiful West Virginia!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

OK, I get that the building doesn't look like a typical B&B. It's an old school building that has been converted into a B&B. Where it gets good is the inside of the building....it is VERY clean. I looked for dust in our room and couldn't find any. The rooms (and beds) were very comfortable as well. Now to cover what typically bothers us most about the places we stay. Not enough outlets...not here. We could both use our laptops and charge our phones without having to unplug anything. Exhaust fan that does nothing....ours worked exceptionally well. Noise from the hallway/ other rooms...not a peep. The area is quiet to begin with, add the cinder block walls that have been covered with drywall and you have extreme quiet. Tiny bathroom...the shower was big. I need to also cover that there was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. We didn't take advantage of them, but there is a nice pool and hot tub if you are looking for that. The owner, Rick was a wonderful host. He greeted us the minute we got there, showed us to our room and was available when we needed him. He also made us a very filling breakfast in the morning at the time we had requested. If you are rafting with Cantrell, the Country River Inn is very convenient as it is right down the road. GPS is currently not reliable to find the address to the Inn. It stopped us down the road at Cantrell, but we quickly figured out that it was just a minute down the road on the left. We have put this location on our list for all future road trips through the area. Thanks again to Rick for his hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Old school house turned into bed and breakfast. GREAT place to stay. Very clean large comfy rooms. And the owners are very nice. Has a nice deck with pool and hot tub. only a short drive to town for some good eats.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Country River Inn last summer for a night while passing though the area. We were very pleased with the accommodations and the friendly staff. I was impressed at how clean it was. We will probably return to the area this summer and stay for a few more days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here recently and were happy we did. The owners were nice and friendly! As mentioned here, it is remodeled school building so the rooms do have a dorm-like feel to them. Nonetheless, they were clean and comfortable. The hotel is out in the country so expect to do some driving to get into town for food and services. That said, the hotel is conveniently located next to a plethora of hiking options for those who like the outdoors. If you are picky about your diet, then you may have to make alternative arrangements regarding your breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hard to believe that it was just a week ago when I was at this Bed and Breakfast. What a great place to stay thanks to Lois, Rick (Delilah, their daughter), and Polly, the cutest, most well behaved dog I have ever met. This place had just everything to meet my needs... a large, pretty and clean room, with all the amenities. It is not far from town but it is in a quiet setting. Our host, Rick, even stopped by our room and dropped off a cup of coffee! How's that for service! Thank you once again for everything.

Miss you Lois!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First, let me thank our host/hostess, Rick, Lois, Delilah and last but not least Polly. My girlfriend and I visited this B&B for Bridge Day. The room was super clean, and included a mini fridge, microwave and lots of fresh, clean towels - it was very comfortable. The owners were so very accomodating and were always ready to meet the needs of their customers. The location was not on the main road and was very quiet. The breakfast was really nice and included scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, biscuts, juice, coffee, coffee cake, cereal, fruit danish. Everything was freshly prepared and tasty. I would highly recommend this B&B to all who travel through Fayetteville, WV!!! Thanks again foreverything!!!! You made this a wonderful vacation :)

Room Tip: This is a good place to stay if you do not require a fitness room. Great value, service, location a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country River Inn

Address: 9060 Gatewood Road, Fayetteville, WV 25840
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country River Inn provides clean and comfortable accommodations in a quiet country setting. All of our rooms are non smoking with a private bath and walk in rain showers, 2 queen beds, microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, individually controlled heat/AC, and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.