We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Home Made Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Cafe

Cathedral Cafe
134 South Court Street, Fayetteville, WV 25840
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Home Made Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Small cafe with a wonderful selection of meals. My friends had the meat loaf and lasagne and both were delicious. I had the gyro which was also very good.

Visited August 2014
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minerva, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Second Chance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I only wish that I had seen the dirty bathroom without soap & paper towels before we ordered! On the back of the men's room door was a sheet of paper to let you know that this establishment was for sale. I would have used that to dry my hands but it didn't look that great either. The trash can wasn't full and the staff wasn't what I would consider overwhelmed. My wife and girls found the same issues in the women's room. The glass top was missing off of our sticky table and the window air conditioner was blowing full force across my back. The food was okay at best and we couldn't wait to get out of there. Our family loves to try new and unique restaurants, but this was one of the few times we all agreed that fast food would have been a better choice. It has the appearance of a place that has seen its better days.

Visited July 2014
2 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint surrounds. Open early.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Set up in what once was a small church (stained glass windows and all!), this cafe is open for breakfast and lunch. Parking is availably along the street - if you know how to parallel park! It was worth the trip into town from our campsite, however. Owned by a local family, servers were friendly, informative, and proud of their town's heritage. Their signature cinnamon roll, fresh from the oven, was huge (7" - 8" in diameter!) and was perfect with our first coffee of the day. Pancakes are also outstanding - we tried several different versions and shared bites so we could all sample them. The cafe is quite small - maybe 10 tables in all, but if you like local cuisine and culture, this place is the epitome of the hospitality we found during our vacation in West Virginia. It's not far from the huge arch bridge that spans the New River Gorge. Great way to start your day.

Visited July 2014
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well one of our guides on our zip lining trip recommended it. Our whole family loves coffee and we wanted to try something different, we went for coffee but ended up having lunch. Very cute inside and the service was very friendly!!!

Visited July 2014
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Cute place with good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stopped here for lunch after a trip to the New River Bridge.It was in a old church with pretty stained glass windows.It was really cute with good music & a used clothing shop upstairs.It reminded me of the type of places we go to in Asheville N.C. The food was good,mostly sandwiches reasonably priced.We spent about 10$ pp.The balsamic marinated chicken sandwich was great.This is a great choice if you are in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank bluekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cafe also viewed


Been to Cathedral Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing