We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience of a lifetime great people good fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantrell Ultimate Rafting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayetteville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantrell Ultimate Rafting
Save
You added Cantrell Ultimate Rafting to your Saves list
49 Cantrell Drive, Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience of a lifetime great people good fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great people beautiful place and the price was by far the cheapest. I would recommend anyone interested in a experience of a lifetime to gave it a try. The guide Terry was awesome makes you feel right at home. Thanks for everything see you guys next year. Can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandongray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I have only used Cantrell and I don't believe I will ever try anyone else. Every time is an awesome experience. This time was the first on the all day and Cantrell even exceeded expectations on the lunch spread. Great company. Duncan was our guide and he did a great job. Already anticipating next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelaneysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great for teens and adults. It'll whip you into shape! Great guides and great prices. Fun family memories and fantastic environment. Pictures are taken and ours turn out to be absolutely hilarious every year! We'll keep coming back to Cantrell's every year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grioni
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We knew white water rafting on the New would be fun, but we didn't expect to have so much of it! Cantrell is one of only three family owned companies that remain in the area, providing all sorts of outdoor adventure services, competing with some big companies and doing a pretty good job at it. We made a last minute reservation and they were able to not only secure us a spot only a few days before the event, but also recommend a local hotel to stay... all at a price that could not be matched.

Duncan, our "oarsman" taught all five of us (my wife, three kids, aged 13 through 17 and I) how to raft through the Lower New with 10 times the water volume for this time of the year, safely and enjoy the adventure at the same time.

The Lower New gave us several Class III rapids and a Class IV to go through. We experienced waves as large as 10 feet high (typical of spring and not of mid-July) and a thrill you can't get anywhere else. We only wish we'd done more of it!! Definitely a YES on my list of places to revisit and companies to do business with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a great full day trip yesterday! The New was really up but George of the Gorge gave us a wicked good ride!

I had relatives from FL and TX out on the river for their first ever trip...and they're ready to come back for another trip!

Thanks Ritchie...super deal yesterday coupled with George of the Gorge doing his guide gig made a lot of happy folks! We'll be back dudes!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MSgt-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great first time experience rafting the "bigger" rapids-Cantrell is a smaller outfit which leads to more personalized service and a lots of attention from the guides. Safety is definately a priority and our guide, Stacey, was a PRO! She gave us the confidence we needed and promised us BIG FUN as well. Her knowledge of the river is incredible. She is a native of the area and knows the river inside and out. She provided an entertaining ride with lots of history about the river and the area. A delicious lunch was provided on our rafting trip and a very clean and spacious bath house was also on property which made for a great place to shower after the trip. All said-I would definately return to Cantrell Ultimate Rafting and ask for Stacey to be our guide!

Room Tip: the Amish cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I am never let down by the service and staff here. Very friendly and affordable environment. They make you feel like family. If you are looking to hit the river or just need a campsite this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate21224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
18.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
4.7 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
19.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
22.4 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantrell Ultimate Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantrell Ultimate Rafting

Address: 49 Cantrell Drive, Fayetteville, WV 25840
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable, clean and friendly environment to explore the wonders of the New and Gauley River National Scenic Area. Lodging options range from tent camping, R.V. Sites with electric and water, rustic bungalows and cabins with hot tubs. Conveniently located within three minutes of the village of Fayetteville and five minutes from the famous New River Gorge Bridge. Great home cooked breakfast and/or dinner can be pre-purchased during the reservation process or enjoy the best fresh chicken wings with a variety of homemade sauces at the popular Cantrell Grill & Pub. Live entertainment every weekend with some of the best bands in the state and region! Prices are reasonable and friendly to your vacation budget... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing