We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Fun and Safety is a Priority” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantrell Ultimate Rafting

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fayetteville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantrell Ultimate Rafting
Save Saved
You added Cantrell Ultimate Rafting to your Saves list
49 Cantrell Drive, Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Huge Fun and Safety is a Priority”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great first time experience rafting the "bigger" rapids-Cantrell is a smaller outfit which leads to more personalized service and a lots of attention from the guides. Safety is definately a priority and our guide, Stacey, was a PRO! She gave us the confidence we needed and promised us BIG FUN as well. Her knowledge of the river is incredible. She is a native of the area and knows the river inside and out. She provided an entertaining ride with lots of history about the river and the area. A delicious lunch was provided on our rafting trip and a very clean and spacious bath house was also on property which made for a great place to shower after the trip. All said-I would definately return to Cantrell Ultimate Rafting and ask for Stacey to be our guide!

Room Tip: the Amish cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am never let down by the service and staff here. Very friendly and affordable environment. They make you feel like family. If you are looking to hit the river or just need a campsite this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay and a great place to bring a large group of friends. Cabins are nice with hot tubs. There was some nice homestyle cooking for breakfast, lunch, and supper. And the guides made the rafting trip a time to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great trip to take with friends and family. The Base camp has everything you need to make a weekend of parties and rafting perfect. This is one of the smaller outfitters in this part of WV and it shows in a great way! The amount of individual attention and genuine concern for our enjoyment was evident as soon as we walked into the bar! Plus, since their overhead is so low in comparison to the "corporate" rafting companies, our costs were more in line with what we were used to paying. Another added bonus is you know the money you are paying is staying within the area, not to some large out of state investors! Give the little guy a try, you will be impressed with their flexibility, value and FAMILY experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great Lodging, Awesome tour guides, All around excellent trip. Could not have been better. It was my first time rafting down a river this weekend and it won't be the last. Were 100% going back next year!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went down there with a bachlorette party, and could not have had a better time, Teri is the best reft instructor out there. Nanc in the office made sure everything went smoothly including our bus trip down. Scott the bartender kept us good and hydrated, Then Elvis entertained us with his animals. Everyone down there is so friendly, we wil be back year after year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was my first time rafting, and I had a great time!! Aaron was our guide and he was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable regarding the river and its history, and had lots of stories to share. As a first time rafter, I felt very safe with him. He let us know exactly what was coming up and how we were going to maneuver it. We had a blast, these guys know how to have a good time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantrell Ultimate Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantrell Ultimate Rafting

Address: 49 Cantrell Drive, Fayetteville, WV 25840
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable, clean and friendly environment to explore the wonders of the New and Gauley River National Scenic Area. Lodging options range from tent camping, R.V. Sites with electric and water, rustic bungalows and cabins with hot tubs. Conveniently located within three minutes of the village of Fayetteville and five minutes from the famous New River Gorge Bridge. Great home cooked breakfast and/or dinner can be pre-purchased during the reservation process or enjoy the best fresh chicken wings with a variety of homemade sauces at the popular Cantrell Grill & Pub. Live entertainment every weekend with some of the best bands in the state and region! Prices are reasonable and friendly to your vacation budget... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantrell Ultimate Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.