We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantrell Ultimate Rafting - Day Tours

Cantrell Ultimate Rafting - Day Tours
49 Cantrell Drive, Fayetteville, WV 25840
+1 304-877-8235
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cantrell Ultimate Rafting provides outdoor adventure vacations and whitewater rafting on the New River Gorge and Gauley Rivers of West Virginia. Cabins, hot tubs, camping, R.V. sites, live entertainment and an onsite pub & grill. Experience mild to wild water adventures, ziplining, horseback riding adventures, fishing expeditions and much more! Located within minutes from the famous New River Gorge Bridge and the historic village of Fayetteville.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went back in October for the Gaulley run, guide was incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly. The staff was also very nice and accommodating. The cabins were kept in decent shape, definitely good enough for a 3-4 day stay. Highly recommend Cantrell over one of the bigger outfits like ACE.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From start to finish, my weekend with Cantrell was unforgettable. The cabins are rustic but kept clean. The guides are hospitable and professional, knowledgeable and personable. I plan to go back to Cantrell for Gauley season next year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Truly Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

For what it's worth, I just joined TripAdvisor in order to post the this review for Cantrell, so in short, if you're planning a rafting trip on the Gauley, book with this company! I've rafted rivers all over the West (Rio Grande, Rio Chama, American, Sacramento, etc.) and in New Zealand and Australia, and I have to say, this was either the best or very close to it!

Our trip (for our buddy's bachelor party) began early in the morning on a perfect September day: foggy and cool to start, then perfectly sunny and warm. The staff and crew at Cantrell are professional, courteous, thorough, and really nice and chill. Our guide, Stacy, was truly a pro: she deftly lead our group of rookies and novices through the Upper Gauley's succession of class 3, 4, and 5+ rapids, encouraging and guiding us through every twist, turn, and eddy, and chatted us up the whole time. The river itself is awesome; it's almost like the Park Service designed and built it, the rapids are so well spaced out.

The only time we had a full-dump wipeout was on Postage Due, that big rock locals and river runners pile themselves around to get a glimpse of people falling out of rafts. Stacy handled the whole thing great; what can ordinarily be a scary or dangerous experience actually turned out to be fun. Then, one run down, we ran it again in the afternoon---after a full lunch prepared by Cantrell's staff. It was an experience to remember, and Cantrell made it possible. Thanks again, Stacy and crew; we had an awesome time with you!

After returning to base, we enjoyed an already-edited video of the day's adventures while enjoying a cold beer at the on-site bar (great touch!). Couldn't ask for a better rafting experience.

Again, if you're thinking of rafting the Upper Gauley (or the New), go with Cantrell!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service and guides!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

You should skip the Ace and Adventure names and choose this long time family owned business rafting company. The owners (Nancy and ? Cantrell ) are hands on to make sure your experience is first rate!
The guides are the best and most experienced on the river. Their prices are the lowest too. I've done the other two companies in town and will now always go back to Cantrells.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They really do mean 'Ultimate'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I returned from an amazing whitewater rafting trip with Cantrell Ultimate Rafting on the Gauley River. Owners, Rich and Nancy are very warm and welcoming. Great care was taken to properly fit us to our equipment and safety is priority number one. We were assigned the best guide on the river, Duncan. He has been 'living' on the river for years kayaking, rafting and fishing. Duncan can really read water. Duncan is very knowledgeable about the area and history of the river. We had a very fun but uneventful trip. You don't want to have an eventful trip! We stayed with Cantrell at their site and really enjoyed ourselves. Accomodations were comfortable and clean. I already know that I will be returning with family and friends in the future. With Cantrell Ultimate Rafting you are not just another customer. Cantrell's is the way to go for the best whitewater rafting adventure in West Virginia!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantrell Ultimate Rafting - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cantrell Ultimate Rafting - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantrell Ultimate Rafting - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.