We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge

Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge
Fayette Mine Rd & US-19, Fayetteville, WV
(304) 574-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great, safe soft-core adventure. Our guide was terrific - very friendly and patient with a growing knowledge of the gorge, river and state. We had plenty of time to take photos, watch kayakers running the river and watch two peregrine falcons that nest on the bridge. We decided to do this because the national park area was closed (we don't go around barricades) and it turned out to be a rare, fantastic experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unique Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The views are just fantastic. I was a bit hesitant at first, but relaxed after a few minutes. It was not cheap but I feel it was well worth the cost. Nothing like it anywhere I have ever been.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank reclinerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took the New River Gorge Bridge Walk in July and what a stunning view of the area and the bridge architecture. It is rare to be able to get an educational guided tour of such structures, and then when combined with the incredible beauty of the area, it was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Very secure in the safety system. It was fun to watch the river rafters go through the rapids and see if all the rafters can stay in the boat! One person in our party even saw a bear running on the ground into a brushy area as we got closer to the end of the walk! Truly worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellee5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view of the Gorge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took the New River Gorge Bridge Walk on a beautiful afternoon. Our guide, Tim, was very knowledgeable about the bridge and the area providing lots of information as we made our way across the catwalk under the bridge roadway. The tour was professionally run and was concerned with safety. We were harnessed to a wire as we walked. My husband is not comfortable with heights, but he did it and didn't feel unsafe. It's a great way to experience the gorge and learn something in the process.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank njtravelers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Steady as you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice trip, hooked in no chance of falling, great views of the Gorge must see. Nice outing. Great guides, a lot of history of the bridge go see it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rockrock9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge also viewed

 
West Virginia, United States
 

Been to Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing