We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge

Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge
Fayette Mine Rd & US-19, Fayetteville, WV
(304) 574-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Bridges
Attraction Details
West Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Unique Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The views are just fantastic. I was a bit hesitant at first, but relaxed after a few minutes. It was not cheap but I feel it was well worth the cost. Nothing like it anywhere I have ever been.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, OR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I took the New River Gorge Bridge Walk in July and what a stunning view of the area and the bridge architecture. It is rare to be able to get an educational guided tour of such structures, and then when combined with the incredible beauty of the area, it was a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Very secure in the safety system. It was fun to watch the river rafters go through the rapids and see if all the rafters can stay in the boat! One person in our party even saw a bear running on the ground into a brushy area as we got closer to the end of the walk! Truly worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view of the Gorge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took the New River Gorge Bridge Walk on a beautiful afternoon. Our guide, Tim, was very knowledgeable about the bridge and the area providing lots of information as we made our way across the catwalk under the bridge roadway. The tour was professionally run and was concerned with safety. We were harnessed to a wire as we walked. My husband is not comfortable with heights, but he did it and didn't feel unsafe. It's a great way to experience the gorge and learn something in the process.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Steady as you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice trip, hooked in no chance of falling, great views of the Gorge must see. Nice outing. Great guides, a lot of history of the bridge go see it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did the Bridge Walk on June 16, 2013. It was an awesome experience. Our guide, Rebecca, was knowledgeable and personable. We never felt unsafe as we were securely tethered to the safety system. We saw a juvenile peregrine falcon very close up. We saw a train, rafters on the New River, and a train. The length of the catwalk is about 0.6 mile, but with walking slowly and stopping to look at the sights, the activity takes about 2 hours. Definitely worth the money and the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge also viewed

West Virginia, United States
 

Been to Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bridge Walk- New River Gorge Bridge to your Saves list