We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful owner + beautiful home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful owner + beautiful home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My spouse and I planned two nights away to celebrate an anniversary in March 2013. When we pulled into the driveway, we were a little surprised to see it so drab. The landscape, of course, had not yet blossomed. But the house itself looked like it needed TLC. However, the inside was very clean and comfortable, plus the owner was very kind. Bernie gave us our space but was available to answer questions and cook a delicious breakfast. We enjoyed greeting the other guests in the morning, but never heard them while in our room (except when they were going up or down the stairs). We stayed in Rosa's Suite; it was comfortable and private. We ended up having a very nice stay!! We recommend this B&B and will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We're all really happy you and your spouse were so pleased with your stay here last year! Thanks for the great review. We think if you pay us another visit, you'll see that the landscaping really improves the appeal of the house, and we try to keep it in the best shape possible.

We hope you'll come back again sometime soon -- we know you'll have an even better time this time than last year!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in many B&B's and Inns over the years. This one has the right combination of hospitality, comfort and convenience. The home is tastefully decorated without being overly decorated. It is a lovely, grand home. However, you do not feel like you are intruding in great aunt Gertude's parlor and she will be distressed if you move a doily out of place. In my mind that is a difficult balance to achieve. We stayed in the Grand room with the en suite bathroom. The room is very spacious and retains historic features like a tile fireplace and poplar floors. The bathroom was clearly added later. We found the room to be comfortable and larger than most B&B acomodations. Our host, Bernie, was attentive to all of the guests. For instance when I mentioned I was going hiking, he offered me a hiking book from his library. It turned out to be very helpful. There is a small refrigerator provided for guests as well as tea kettle and tea. Bernie was willing to bend the breakfast time rule for guests with who had booked early guided trips. I can tell you that not all B&B's will do this. And he offered it without being asked and without making a big fuss about it. This accommodation is a real value when you consider that it includes a generous breakfast each morning. I was hesitant to write a review because I don't want to have difficulty making a reservation here in the future. But Bernie has certainly earned may praise and that of earlier reviewers.

Room Tip: The rooms I was able to see all looked nicely decorated. It comes down to whether you prefer an en s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We're all so happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, Robin! It's great that you were so impressed with the house, also. Rest assured that Great Aunt Gertrude doesn't mind guests!

We're particularly happy to hear that you were so pleased with our service. We strive to make everyone feel at home and provide them with all the assistance and accommodation that we can, and we're always more than happy to do it. You're here on your schedule, not ours.

All in all, this is a terrific review, and we all truly appreciate it. I hope you'll come see us again soon!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Spent a night Fayetteville on our roadtrip and experienced true Southern Hospitality at the Historic Morris Harvey House B&B. Bernie was the consummate host, providing us with information about the area before our visit and was able to give very useful advise when we checked in. The house preserved its historic elegance with modern amenities. Breakfast was a reflection of the same warmth of both the host and place and was the perfect start for our roadtrip. Definitely a must stay for guests passing through Fayetteville.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're all so glad we were able to help you start your road trip off right, Joel! It's no problem at all for us to give advice and guidance to help you have a great Fayetteville experience -- that's what we're here for! It's also great that you appreciated the house itself so much -- at 112 years old, it's definitely both elegant and historic, and we're glad you agree!

Thanks again for this great review. If you ever come through Fayetteville again, we hope you'll stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We planned a last-minute spring break trip to West Virginia and are so happy Fayetteville and Morris Harvey B&B made the list of places to visit and stay! We had the 2 bedroom top floor suite with private bath that was perfect for the 3 of us. The house is just beautiful and the breakfasts were mini feasts each morning. What made it most memorable though was the owner Bernie and his son Cameron (though my daughter might say it was the lemonade and chocolate/peanut butter cookies out each afternoon). They went out of their way to make us feel so at home and helped with activities, dining options (your mind and mouth will be blown) and info on the area. I highly recommend and definitely kid friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jen,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure getting to know your family over the course of your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed everything Fayetteville has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Next time we'll get you rafting on the river!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We met old friends from out of town last weekend in Fayetteville and stayed at the Morris Harvey house for two nights. Our room was comfortable, we chose the only room in the place with no bathroom. Next time we'll upgrade as we realize that's an important convenience for us! The home was lovely, well kept and the food was creative and enjoyable. One of the best parts of our visit besides the fabulous hiking, was our hosts. Bernie is a great dad and his two sons do an extremely professional job as hosts, chef and bottle washers! We hope to go back again and have great memories of the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Susan,

Thanks so much for the great review. Your group made our weekend a treat! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the amazing hiking our area has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

So personal, so friendly so perfect...

The host and his family welcome you in with open arms and make you feel so at home. We fell in love with these folks and cannot wait to go back and stay at this location. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Bridget,

We loved getting to know you and Brandi over the course of your stay. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to seeing you back in Fayetteville soon! You are always welcome!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed overnight while in town for business and I think the place is absolutely perfect.....from the manicured grounds to the immaculate house. I had a great time talking with the owners Bernie and Cameron while they were making us the delicious breakfast. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Brett,

It was so great getting to know you over your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed our property as well as our full breakfast spread we prepare for our guests each morning. We truly feel as though we've made a new friend. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.