We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Mortis Harvey House and it was great. We were traveling south and made Fayetteville a hal way point. The house is walking distance from great restaurants! Will definitely stay here again! Thanks Bernie for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Allie,

Thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as all the amazing restaurants within walking distance of our B&B. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Morris Harvey B&B is the exact halfway point on my drive from Pittsburgh to my parent's home in NC. Recently stayed here, coming and going, and the place is immaculate, the proprietors wonderful (rushed to get me ice for a sore knee when I first arrived), and there are fresh berries at breakfast. (The latter is my litmus test!) There's nothing worse than spending the night in a "parking lot hotel" along a major highway, and waking up to packaged cereal and eggs and bacon, and only if you are very lucky, a banana. Here you are staying in a B&B surrounded by yard and big trees, with a charming sidewalk-laden town with very interesting restaurants a pleasant walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We're glad you loved our full hot breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you over your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your visit in July! We'll be sure to have some great adventure activities lined up for you.

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHWOOD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Morris Harvey House B & B for my husband's birthday getaway. It is within walking distance of great restaurants, an antique mall across the street, and is a lovely place to be. Bernie is a great host, friendly and helpful. The Pineapple French Toast was delightful, and the bed comfortable. We stayed in Rosa's Suite. We want to go back again when the weather is warm. We ate at our favorite Cajun restaurant, Gumbo's on Court Street. Fayetteville is a neat small town.

Room Tip: Rosa's Suite is on the first floor if you don't want to climb steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're so glad we were able to make your husband's birthday an even more special time than usual! It's especially great to hear you liked your breakfast so much -- the Pineapple French Toast is the house specialty! We were more than happy to be your hosts during your visit to our town, and we can't wait to see you again soon.

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My mom, sister and I stayed in the 3rd floor Loft Suite at the Morris Harvey Bed & Breakfast in the off season (Feb. 1st), and there was just a couple staying as well, so it was nice and quiet. We had the tv room, sitting area, kitchen w/ dishware and a small fridge for communal use. The friendly and knowledgable owner lives in the nearby cottage, and is readily available for assistance, but you are afforded a nice amount of privacy and space. The owner said the loft's three bed situation was set to be improved immediately after our stay, as the suite was being taken out of commission for a few weeks. Good news because one of my few complaints was the cute twin bed I occupied tended to tilt wildly side to side, due to the mattress being to big for the box springs I suspect. The loft has its own temperature control, separate from the rest of the house, which is a welcome convenience. As it is made up of the whole third floor of a historic, interesting shaped house, guests (especially tall ones) really need to mind their heads. But even though there was an occasional absent-minded head bump on the irregular shaped ceilings, we found it perfectly charming. The bathroom is nice and large, could use a touch of updating in some areas, but the modern shower/tub, with its waterfall fixture and switch-controlled heater directly outside of the shower door, is fantastic. A sideboard buffet is served in the morning along with pleasant conversation with the owner, and any help you may need with local area info. A perfect base for Bridge Day or local sightseeing, also within walking distance of the ridiculously good Secret Sandwich Society restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It sounds like you and your family had a terrific time here, Tiffany Desiree! We're so glad to hear it. We were more than happy to host you all and help with any and all Fayetteville-related info. Sorry to hear you bumped your heads a few times, but a 112-year old house is bound to have a few...irregularities, right? Thanks for being so understanding about it.

All in all, we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Here's hoping we see you again soon!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My room was average and dusty. The inn keeper was not on site when I arrived and gave only basic information. Shower curtain in lovely clawfoot shower was moldy or at least discolored from mold or mildew. With some care and attention this could be an outstanding property and he could charge twice as much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We're so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We strive to make our guests feel right at home upon their arrival with us and we take pride in our property's cleanliness. Check-in time is between 4-7 p.m. and if guests arrive earlier or later than said time, we might not always be available to greet them. We use those other times to run errands and get together other things for the B&B, however, we always try to remain close by and meet with guests as soon as possible. Recently we've made some aesthetic updates on the B&B such as painting our back porch, trim, and furniture. We would love for you to come back and give us another chance to impress you. I can assure you that your last stay with us was just a little hiccup. Thank you so much for your informative review!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is always a treat to return to Fayetteville and staying at The Morris Harvey House. Have been staying ther for te past 6 years or so at least once a year. The home is a wonderfull respite from a hectic life and the hospitality by the innkeeper Bernie is mirrored by none. He has gone above normal innkeeper duties to help accomodate our visits with him. I have had nothing but great experiences here, and feel at home with every visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for this wonderful review, Ron! We've always been more than happy to host you for the last few years, and we're glad you keep coming back! We're really proud that we've become your home away from home. Even though it's been a few months since you posted this review, we wanted to let you know that we're looking forward to your next visit, and we can't wait to see you again!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we decided to spend a few days in Fayetteville rafting and climbing, we stayed at the Morris Harvey house. As a few other reviews have said, the place is pretty "antique" and could use a little paint here and there, but overall it was a very pleasant place to spend the night. The owner Bernie was delightful and very accommodating. On mornings we needed to leave for our activities before breakfast would generally be done, Bernie made sure to have something available early so we didn't have to go somewhere else to eat. We stayed in the Rosa room which did have an attached bath. While small, the bathroom was more than adequate for a couple days. If you wanted to watch TV, you had to do it in a common room. The best part of the stay was definitely the breakfast every morning. Bernie cooked up a delightful array of dishes every morning that was truly enjoyable. Fayetteville is a great small town and the Harvey Morris house fits right in.

Room Tip: Bed is the Rosa room squeaks if you move around a lot. If you are sleeper who moves around a lot, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're all so glad to hear you were so pleased with your stay here last summer! We were all more than happy to do whatever we could to make your stay comfortable and convenient -- particularly at breakfast time. Our breakfasts are one of our most popular attractions, and we'd hate to have anyone miss out, so it was no trouble to make sure there was something ready for you!

It sounds like you had a really great time here -- we all hope to see you again next time you visit Fayetteville. We look forward to it!

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.