We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cosby, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is always a treat to return to Fayetteville and staying at The Morris Harvey House. Have been staying ther for te past 6 years or so at least once a year. The home is a wonderfull respite from a hectic life and the hospitality by the innkeeper Bernie is mirrored by none. He has gone above normal innkeeper duties to help accomodate our visits with him. I have had nothing but great experiences here, and feel at home with every visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we decided to spend a few days in Fayetteville rafting and climbing, we stayed at the Morris Harvey house. As a few other reviews have said, the place is pretty "antique" and could use a little paint here and there, but overall it was a very pleasant place to spend the night. The owner Bernie was delightful and very accommodating. On mornings we needed to leave for our activities before breakfast would generally be done, Bernie made sure to have something available early so we didn't have to go somewhere else to eat. We stayed in the Rosa room which did have an attached bath. While small, the bathroom was more than adequate for a couple days. If you wanted to watch TV, you had to do it in a common room. The best part of the stay was definitely the breakfast every morning. Bernie cooked up a delightful array of dishes every morning that was truly enjoyable. Fayetteville is a great small town and the Harvey Morris house fits right in.

Room Tip: Bed is the Rosa room squeaks if you move around a lot. If you are sleeper who moves around a lot, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just finished our stay at the Morris Harvey House. As some reviewers have stated, the house could use some touch-ups, but, considering both the history and the age of the house some quirks are understandable. Plus, Bernie, the owner, adds a lot of positive energy and personality to the place. We actually had a problem with the bed in the Rosa suite: very annoying "squeeking" that we brought to Bernie's attention. Since the solution for the bed wasn't doable in the time we were staying Bernie was quick to offer us another room for our last evening. Great jesture that was well appreciated. Don't think you can go wrong staying here; just don't expect the Ritz. Final note: Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If your on the road and geting tired of the big chains this is the place to stay. We were greeted by the owner, Bernie, who gave us a tour of the villa. The house is an old victorian hous that is renovaded with all the amenities you need (expect tv, i can do without for one night :) ). In the morning Bernie cooked us breakfast with his signature pineappel panncakes, yum! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were on Roadtrip 2013 and opted to stay in a B&B vs. cabins near the River Gorge. It was a great choice! My teenage kids (19 and 16) had not stayed at a B&B in the U.S. and loved it! We stayed in the 3rd floor loft - rare to find a B&B that can accommodate 4 - it was a suite but not for anyone over 6' but definitely a memorable experience. The bathroom was recently rennovated and pretty cool. We peeked in the other rooms (before guest arrived) and they were lovely with tall ceilings.

The breakfast was yummy peaches and cream french toast, eggs, and breads. The real delight however was the nearly 2 hour morning conversation around the breakfast table with the other guest. It was truly entertaining. A couple from Manchester England that has seen more of the U.S. than 90% of Americans and a humorous couple from Tennessee original from Indiana. Both had fascinating stories about boating. My kids loved it! Bernie the host was friendly and informative about things to see and do. Highly, highly recommend to anyone going to West Virginia.

Room Tip: The loft was really cool but built on the third floor and had angled ceilings. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped in Fayettville, WV on our way to the Great Smokey Mountains for our fifth anniversary trip and the Morris Harvey Houses was the first stop on a great trip. The old architecture was well restored and had many stories of long ago to tell. The owners were very curious and helpful. AND the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: The Harvey Room has a 1/2 bath which is all we needed for one night :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the guest house, next to the main bed & breakfast, so this review reflects those accommodations. The guest house is newer, built in the 1930's and located next door to the Morris Harvey House. It has been updated and has four bedrooms and two bathrooms. Two bedrooms and one bath are upstairs and two bedrooms and a bath downstairs. My husband and I stayed downstairs and shared a bathroom with the room across the hall. The house has been updated and is well appointed. We arrived early, but Bernie didn't mind and checked us in and pointed out some things to do around town and filled us in on what to expect in the morning for breakfast. After checking out the New River bridge and visitor center we headed back to the inn to shower and meet our niece for dinner. I was disappointed to find the bathroom had only four bath towels. I don't know about other women, but I usually use at least two bath towels (one for my hair). I think additional towels would be nice, and perhaps having them located in the room instead of the shared bathroom would be helpful. Also, the shampoo bottle was half empty. Since the other guests hadn't checked in yet I am assuming the shampoo was left over from a previous guest. I find that kind of tacky. I'm guessing at the price point of the Morris Harvey House, new shampoo bottles can be put out after each guest checks out. Breakfast was served in the main house and was quite good and satisfying. Bernie is nice and very knowledgeable about the history of house. We stayed only one night as we were on a motorcycle trip and touring West Virginia, however we would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.