We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay at the Morris Harvey House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Fayetteville B&B and Inns
saint louis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Stay at the Morris Harvey House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just finished our stay at the Morris Harvey House. As some reviewers have stated, the house could use some touch-ups, but, considering both the history and the age of the house some quirks are understandable. Plus, Bernie, the owner, adds a lot of positive energy and personality to the place. We actually had a problem with the bed in the Rosa suite: very annoying "squeeking" that we brought to Bernie's attention. Since the solution for the bed wasn't doable in the time we were staying Bernie was quick to offer us another room for our last evening. Great jesture that was well appreciated. Don't think you can go wrong staying here; just don't expect the Ritz. Final note: Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie K, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, tjemee, despite our quirks! Like you said, an old, historic house like ours is bound to have a few irregularities, and we appreciate your understanding about it. Also, it was no trouble to move you to a new room -- we know how annoying a squeaky bed can be!

Though we realize it's been a few months, we wanted to check in and let you know how glad we are you had such a good time with us. If you ever find yourself back in Fayetteville, we hope you'll let us host you again.

All the best,
Bernie, BJ, and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If your on the road and geting tired of the big chains this is the place to stay. We were greeted by the owner, Bernie, who gave us a tour of the villa. The house is an old victorian hous that is renovaded with all the amenities you need (expect tv, i can do without for one night :) ). In the morning Bernie cooked us breakfast with his signature pineappel panncakes, yum! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We know some time has passed since your visit, but we wanted to let you know that we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities we offer as well as our famous pineapple breakfast dishes. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fayetteville!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were on Roadtrip 2013 and opted to stay in a B&B vs. cabins near the River Gorge. It was a great choice! My teenage kids (19 and 16) had not stayed at a B&B in the U.S. and loved it! We stayed in the 3rd floor loft - rare to find a B&B that can accommodate 4 - it was a suite but not for anyone over 6' but definitely a memorable experience. The bathroom was recently rennovated and pretty cool. We peeked in the other rooms (before guest arrived) and they were lovely with tall ceilings.

The breakfast was yummy peaches and cream french toast, eggs, and breads. The real delight however was the nearly 2 hour morning conversation around the breakfast table with the other guest. It was truly entertaining. A couple from Manchester England that has seen more of the U.S. than 90% of Americans and a humorous couple from Tennessee original from Indiana. Both had fascinating stories about boating. My kids loved it! Bernie the host was friendly and informative about things to see and do. Highly, highly recommend to anyone going to West Virginia.

Room Tip: The loft was really cool but built on the third floor and had angled ceilings. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjkania, Owner at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! We absolutely love our guests and they're the reason we enjoy our career so much. We are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful Victorian house, as well as our full hot breakfast we provide our guests each morning. We hope that you come back to see us again next time you're in the New River Gorge area!

Best regards,

Bernie, Cameron, and B.J. Kania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stopped in Fayettville, WV on our way to the Great Smokey Mountains for our fifth anniversary trip and the Morris Harvey Houses was the first stop on a great trip. The old architecture was well restored and had many stories of long ago to tell. The owners were very curious and helpful. AND the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: The Harvey Room has a 1/2 bath which is all we needed for one night :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the guest house, next to the main bed & breakfast, so this review reflects those accommodations. The guest house is newer, built in the 1930's and located next door to the Morris Harvey House. It has been updated and has four bedrooms and two bathrooms. Two bedrooms and one bath are upstairs and two bedrooms and a bath downstairs. My husband and I stayed downstairs and shared a bathroom with the room across the hall. The house has been updated and is well appointed. We arrived early, but Bernie didn't mind and checked us in and pointed out some things to do around town and filled us in on what to expect in the morning for breakfast. After checking out the New River bridge and visitor center we headed back to the inn to shower and meet our niece for dinner. I was disappointed to find the bathroom had only four bath towels. I don't know about other women, but I usually use at least two bath towels (one for my hair). I think additional towels would be nice, and perhaps having them located in the room instead of the shared bathroom would be helpful. Also, the shampoo bottle was half empty. Since the other guests hadn't checked in yet I am assuming the shampoo was left over from a previous guest. I find that kind of tacky. I'm guessing at the price point of the Morris Harvey House, new shampoo bottles can be put out after each guest checks out. Breakfast was served in the main house and was quite good and satisfying. Bernie is nice and very knowledgeable about the history of house. We stayed only one night as we were on a motorcycle trip and touring West Virginia, however we would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Built in 1902, the Morris Harvey House has been updated to modern times without losing its century-old charm. The property is filled with period furniture and decorations. While we had a very nice room with private bath, some of the rooms have shared baths, so be sure to specify which room you want. All are on the website. Great breakfast. Great advice on local restaurants and sights. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliphant
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B in Fayetteville. Our host Bernie was VERY accommodating. Even to the extent of honouring our Hotels dot comreservation even though I screwed up and booked it a night before we ARRIVED in Fayetteville. House & street were quiet and peaceful. Although we arrived late we walked around town and saw several interesting looking shops & restaurants. Due to proximity to New River Gorge (and its whitewater boaters & rock climbers), the town has a more eclectic feel than your 'average' West Virginia town. Well worth the trip! Oh, and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 West Maple Ave., Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Morris Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.