We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely meets standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1220 TJ Jackson Drive, Falling Waters, WV 25419   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Falling Waters
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Barely meets standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon check-in the clerk was quite rude; we requested a room other than the one he had pre-assigned to us. And no apology for the lobby being extremely hot because of no air conditioning. Too cheap to get it fixed? No hard boiled eggs in the breakfast bar. The only aspect good about this location is the cheap price.

Room Tip: Upper floor on side opposite the 81 freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Sorry to hear ,it was not your pleasant stay with us. We are not cheap, We did admit our lobby AC was broken. Mechanical failure was out of our hand. All our hallway AC was working up to full capacity. No one was available to fix it during weekend. It was still fixed by Sunday. We did change your room as per your request to upper floor and we did got feedback from your spouse that room was nice and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
20
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Positives:
Convenient location, off 81 North
Pet friendly
Free breakfast
Negatives:
Older hotel,not your typical Holiday Express
No air conditioner in lobby, breakfast area or elevator.
They have both smoking and non-smoking rooms on the same floor. You can smell the smoke in the hallway as you walk to your room.
Vending machine on the floor was completely empty! I would recommend traveling a couple of miles further north to exit 5A.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have pleasent stay with us. we did had problem with front lobby AC unit. We can not find any one to come and work on it over the weekend.it is being repaired now.All our vending machine are fully functional and stock. but we will be more careful. We are operating hotel to its standard nothing less.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falling Waters hotels

Front Royal, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was clean, the hotel quiet, and the staff pleasant so we would stay here again. This is a pet friendly place and their fees were very reasonable. The only drawback was the shower which took several minutes to reach full heat. We were on the top floor so maybe that had something to do with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had to make an unexpected business trip in early January. I was able to book a room here on short notice and I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel is conveniently located right off I-81. There are a number of restaurants nearby. We found the hotel to be quiet, which is exactly what we needed for a good night's sleep. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent, the attendant took great care to ensure that fresh food was constantly available and that the tables were clean.

Two complaints/concerns:

1.) The bed was not particularly comfortable. The mattress was not the quality I usually find at HIExpress hotels. The mattress wasn't firm and it was bendy. Not good for the back at all.

2.) The elevator inspection had expired in October 2012.

The elevator inspection seems like a small thing, but a detail when it comes to guest safety should never be overlooked.

I would considering staying here again; however, I do hope that my next room has a much more comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear albinogypsy,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while passing through from NC to PA... The location is right off 81 which worked for us! The rooms were clean--just a little older... The staff was ok. The breakfast was good for a small hotel! Overall an average place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights on a R&R trip. Upon check-in, we were greeted nicely by the female (forget name) front desk agent. We asked a little about the area and she helped us out so much. Each morning when we saw her, she greeted us with a warm smile and made us feel at home.

On the other hand, the male front desk agent (of perhaps Indian descent)that we saw at night had the personality of a door knob. We said hello several times to blank stares and outright apathy. One morning I woke up around 4:00AM to use the bathroom and I noticed the "Message Waiting" light blinking on the phone. I tried to retrieve the messages, but the directions on the phone were incorrect. I called down to the front desk and he said, "You have no messages!" then hung up.

Another concern that came up is when my wife and I noticed the cleaning staff just standing around the breakfast bar eating and talking with each other during the guests' breakfast hours. I know this should not have been.

This hotel is nice, clean, and quiet, but some things need to be addressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for giving us your review. We are very sorry for night shift desk clerk and breakfast hour issue. We will address this issue and will cure the problem in our employee meeting.Our success measures on guest's satisfication.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beware senior citizens! The staff is dishonest and rude! Stopped on our way home from new York to north Carolina in October of this year. I am 65 and well traveled! First time experience of such dishonest treatment by front desk staff. Think I also had flea bites as rash appeared on my neck after being in this establishment.(or bed bugs) not sure but have bites! If at all possible keep driving and do not take a chance on this hotel.... Better choices in nearby towns!

Room Tip: Do not take a chance on this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhumesh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very sorry for your experience. Our success is based on guest satisfaction. If you do not mind can you please tell us , what was the dishonesty about ? So, we can review our policy or staff awareness.One thing we are 100% sure about is, our property doesnot have flees or bedbugs. We have monthly pest control service and inspection.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North

Address: 1220 TJ Jackson Drive, Falling Waters, WV 25419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Falling Waters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Falling Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North! The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 20. Mid Atlantic Business Park, the Prime Outlet on Interstate 70, Charles Town Race Track, Harper's Ferry State Park, Antietam National Battlefield, City Hospital, Woods Golf Club, Amtrak Train Station and Shepherd University are a short distance away. *Free wi-fi * Free hot breakfast * *Pet friendly* All spacious rooms equipped microwave & refrigerator.Enjoy and relax at our seasonal outdoor pool. Affordable rates, excellent amenities, convenient location and our friendly and personable staff will make you feel right at home, so make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel your next stop on the trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North Hotel Falling Waters
Holiday Inn Falling Waters
Falling Waters Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Martinsburg North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Martinsburg North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.