We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Southland Drive, Fairmont, WV 26554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Fairmont
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fine for the Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while in Fairmont for a wedding. The wedding information stated a block was reserved and a discount would be provided if we booked there. The hotel would not give a wedding discount unless we booked for two nights. I don't know if this was explained to the bride as she looked for a hotel for her guests, but this was the first time we were not given a wedding discount because we were not staying two nights.
Anyway...
Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Plenty of breakfast food provided.
There seems to be a lot of between room noise.
Not too bad for a one night (not two night with a discount) stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
19
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

There were some things I really liked about this hotel and other things that were not so great.
The Good:
-The price was reasonable
-The young woman at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. I love having a warm welcome and smile when I check in after a long day on the road
-The front desk sent up a playpen for my daughter right away with a 'baby welcome pack' that included tips for babyproofing the hotel room, a bib, diaper cream and baby shampoo. A great added bonus
-The decor in the room was very modern and nice
-Flat screen tv's in the room
-Comfortable beds
-There is a breakfast included of bread products, yogourt, cereal, fruit, drinks and breakfast sandwiches. The bagel I had was horrible, but how much can you complain when it is free.Breakfast starts at 6 which is nice since we like to be on the road early.

The Bad/Weird
-The hallway of the hotel was insanely hot. I am usually someone who gets cold easily and often don't even put on air con in hotels. There was heat blasting so hard and hot (this was in August on a very hot day) that you couldn't breathe. I have no idea what was going on, probably a one time problem; but weird nonetheless
-The outside of the building and the rooms seemed like they were new but the pool area looked very old and was prety dirty. Perhaps it's an older hotel that has been sold and redone? Anyway, the bottom of the pool was very stained, the sides and the deck were dirty.The hot tub was very hot but had algae on the bottom. Gross.
-There was hair left in the bathtub by the previous guest. A complete turn-off for me.
-The toilet was very tall (weird complaint I know). I am 5"2 and my feet could not touch the floor when I sat on it. This would pose problems for young children or elderly guests.
-The location was sort of weird- tucked in behind a strip plaza, all by itself.
Overall I would stay here again in a pinch but would probably stay elsewhere. The bad things sort of outweigh the good for me even though it was an average hotel for the price.

Room Tip: I was told checking in that the 3rd floor is best for young families and those looking for a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
469 reviews 469 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here en route from Hilton Head. It is located adjacent to a not- quite- finished shopping plaza with sites around appearing to be hopefully awaiting construction. Typically in these locations there is little in the way of anywhere good to eat; Applebees being as good as it gets if one wants anything more than a burger. The hotel itself is quite pleasant being typical of its type. Service was good. When we complained about half a dozen large black bugs jumping and crawling about the ceiling and wall, we were immediately given another room. Pricewise it is a little high considering the location. We only stopped there because it was half way between Hilton Head and home. If we had to do the journey again we would probably stay there again as there is not much else to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

An adequate hotel with a very nice staff, but somewhat overpriced and not quite as good as the closest competition. Some facilities seemed a little worn. Location not great, near a shopping center. Breakfast average. Internet good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's late and we called to get the very last room. The lady on the phone was very professional and quick. I like that since I am a Marriott rewards customer. We were very impressed when we arrived. We had a king suite and it was HUGE ! Nice bathroom and living area with two VERY nice flat screen TV's. The bed was super comfortable and the hotel is very quiet and not right on the highway like some others are. The lobby is very attractive and the breakfast was excellent, except the guy running the breakfast area, was not friendly to us at all and acted like he wanted us to get up and move even though it was just 10:00 when breakfast ended. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Internet was a bit inconsistent. Always worked though. Pool area is adequate. Seemed like we were the only people in the hotel even though it was full. We were on the third floor though but it is nice how in the suites, the bed is all the way to the front of the hotel and not near the hallway at all. Our suite felt like home ! Will stay again when traveling through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nothing extraordinary, but a good hotel for the money. The rooms are comfortable. The pool and exercise rooms are OK. The complimentary breakfast is good - a number of healthy options. The hotel is quiet. There are half a dozen eating places in walking distance. Very easy on and off from I-79.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at this property on our way to Florida in March and again on our return trip in May. Overall it was a good stay with a few negatives which, obviously, didn't deter us from staying again. The hotel itself is new, clean and bright. The staff were friendly. There was an indoor pool and outdoor picnic area. The breakfast was very nice with a good variety. Appleby's is a very short walk away. We did find the hotel noisy when we stayed in room 207 but 310 on the top floor was quieter although it was right across from the vending machines. Room 207 had a mini fridge with freezer while 310 had no fridge. Although complimentary, the internet must rate as one of the world's slowest and one keyboard was a nightmare to use. During the stay in May the hotel was very busy and kids were running around unsupervised making a terrible mess of the "office" area and jumping on the furniture. I think the front desk staff should have taken control of this situation and the overnight desk staff should have cleaned up the "office" area instead of leaving papers these little hellions had scribbled all over lying all over the desk and floor. The Marriott claim of "Luxury bedding - crisp linens, thicker mattresses, custom comforters, fluffier pillows" isn't quite accurate as the bottom sheet doesn't actually fit the mattress!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont

Address: 27 Southland Drive, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Fairmont
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairfield Inn Fairmont
Fairfield Fairmont
Fairmont Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.