We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the five worst hotels that I have ever stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1185 Airport Road, Fairmont, WV 26554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
Ajax
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“one of the five worst hotels that I have ever stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel appears to be under reconstruction and the outside looks OK -- with new stonework, siding etc. -- but the interior is a dump. CHOICE HOTELS SHOULD NOT ALLOW GUESTS TO STAY HERE until it is totally renovated. The plusses: a comfortable king bed and a good breakfast. The minusses: paper-thin walls (we could hear normal conversations, the engine-like air conditioner, and the TV from the next room) and no sound blocking between the room and the hallway; mould all around the bathtub wall liner; years of unwashed handprints on wallpaper near lightswitches; peeling wallpaper and paint; exterior room window that is ready to fall apart; smelly (and ugly) hallways.

Room Tip: as far away from this hotel as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairmontcomfortinn, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel fortunately we are under new ownership and have recently began a full renovation. We have also addressed the cleanliness issues you stated in your review and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

MM Asst General Manager Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    15
    16
    16
See reviews for
18
17
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall a very nice hotel with excellent staff, nicely appointed rooms (a little dated but still nice), pool area looked inviting, fitness center could use some updating on equipment 9worked well but older machines and no universal weight machine). breakfast was good with the standard fare. Would definitely stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairmontcomfortinn, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I would like to say we appreciate your positive feedback as well as you taking the time to write something about our hotel at all cause all feedback be it positive or negative is considered by us all here at The Comfort Inn to be very valuable. We hope to see alot more of you in the future also wanted to let you know that one of the things we're doing as part of our current renovations is to update the equipment in the fitness room as soon as possible.
Until next time have a great day and thank you for staying with us at The Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews and almost didn't stay here. The bed was fantastic. Room 144. It is dated but clean and comfortable. It is very quiet and had a nice breakfast. The desk staff were very nice and allowed us to see the room prior to paying. I would recommend it even though it is currently being upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairmontcomfortinn, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback we here at The Comfort Inn appreciate all feedback and i would like to let u know our crew has been working hard to move along the renovations and get the rooms updated for you and other guests enjoyment we hope you'll stay with us again soon and until then be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked 2 rooms in advance and arrived after a long drive. The hotel is under renovation that is desperately needed however there is no excuse for the fact that both rooms were DIRTY. The vacuum attachments had not been used resulting in an 1-11/2 of grim all the way around the room; the phone had accumulated dirt; bathroom floor lots of dirt in the corner; behind the table between the beds a Kleenex stuffed into a hole in the wall and old finger nail clippings- Really Disgusting and inexcusable. Front desk staff pleasant but hotel shouldn't be allowed to offer rooms this dirty. Corridors very smoky which may improve after the reno- stairs up tot he second floor desperately needed vacuuming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port richey,fl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The outside of the hotel is undergoing renovations but once you make your way inside it was very nice. The customer service person was very nice and our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great. Lots to choose from...you won't go away hungry. Well worth the money. We even walked to the local diner for a quick dinner and received 10% off our bill since we were staying at the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. We used a coupon from the travel book that you get at the welcome center so received a big discount.

Room Tip: use a coupon book for large discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here one night. Didn't realize that the hotel was undergoing renovations so yes, there were areas roped off, construction tools and equipment around and it didn't look very pleasing outside but it really didn't affect anything as there was still plenty of parking and good, easy access to the main entrance. Our room hadn't been renovated yet and it was very dated but clean. Hopefully once the renovations are completed this will be brought up to the same standards as other Comfort Inns that we have stayed at and been very pleased. We had no problems and the breakfast offering was very good. I think the price for the room should've been a little lower since it wasn't renovated yet, but it was still a pretty good value. We'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We weren't told while making our reservation that the hotel was under construction. When we pulled up to the front, the building had no siding, there were scaffolds and workers and work trucks everywhere. The stairwell we walked through to get to our room had large reams of carpet, boxes, paint cans, etc... The room was ok to sleep in. Shower not very clean. Breakfast was pretty good and staff were very friendly. I did expect more from a comfort inn and suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1185 Airport Road, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Fairmont
Comfort Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.