We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are closed but signs are posted saying Fujiama Japanese coming soon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beef's Backwoods Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Beef's Backwoods Grill
422 Marion Sq, Fairmont, WV 26554-1369
304-363-6533
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“They are closed but signs are posted saying Fujiama Japanese coming soon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

They are closed but signs are posted saying Fujiyama Japanese coming soon

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not The Same As It Used To Be......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you're looking for a quick review here it is--AVOID Backwoods Grill. If you want a more thorough description, please read on.

The new ownership may be in the process of destroying a great restaurant. In the past, we loved to eat Backwoods Grill. Their antipasta salads were among the best--if not the best--in an area swimming with good family-owned restaurants. The bruschetta offering was outstanding, with its combination of fresh tomatoes, onions, hungarian wax peppers and a cheeky, fresh and spicy Italian dressing to bring all the flavors together.
Simple dishes such as cheeseburgers and french fries, made with mostly fresh and local ingredients, elevated these simple foods to a different level. Cajun foods were all expertly prepared, relatively healthy when considering that foods were grilled and accompanied by fresh vegetables, and full of flavor. We used to eat there at least once per week.

Now, it's nothing more than a run-of-the-mill joint with relatively bland offerings. It's been over a year since we last visited, and I've heard rumors that it may be closing. To travelers visiting or passing through Fairmont, my advice is to visit Muriale's for consistently tasty and traditional Italian food, or The Aquarium for what may arguably be one of the best dinners you ever eat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Cajun and more..........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This restaurant was previously located next to the West Fork river bank on Route 19 South of Fairmont and over the years outgrew this location. They now have a new building up on the hill but the food is still as good as it ever was. This cajun menu, full of jambalaya, chicken and steak, has something for everyone. A full bar is also if you are looking for a few spirits to go along with your shrimp, sausage and rice..

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good Cajun food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beef's Backwoods Grill is a neat little place that my girlfriend and I were introduced to last year and have been to several times.

Beef's was formerly known as just Backwoods Grill but underwent a name and menu change several months ago.

Beef's menu is mostly centered on Cajun items, but there is a fair bit of American & Barbecue type items on it. One recent addition is the subs on the menu that are very good- they also have a "challenge" called the Big Beef which is a big sub filled with Italian beef, fried potatoes, onion straws, and horseradish blue cheese sauce. I tried it myself once and it's tough to take it all down!

I've enjoyed MOST of what I've had at Beef's. I like their "everything" burger that comes with chili, peppers and lots of other stuff on it.

I have had a few complaints though. Sometimes the food is not consistent. For example they do a basket of fries as an appetizer, with Old Bay seasoning. The only time I ever ordered these fries, the Old Bay was just dumped in the middle instead of being tossed with the fries. Also my girlfriend normally enjoys their lobster bisque but has noted that it has been a bit "off" the last few times we've been there, whether not tasting right or not even being hot when they brought it out.

Another oddity is the fact that when they changed from Backwoods Grill to Beef's Backwoods Grill, somehow the gumbo disappeared from the menu. I'm not sure why they got rid of it but I know my girlfriend was very disappointed because she loved it.

Also, sometimes service can be slow, but the place is often busy so that may be why.

Overall I enjoy this place and I enjoy going there- anyone who likes Cajun, this is one of the few choices in the area. Check it out!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef's Backwoods Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beef's Backwoods Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.