We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
1 review
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I want to thank philly for going above and beyond she saw me walking to my room trying to carrie all my bags and my toddlers she step right in helped me carrie my bags to the room she has the most heart warming smile she made me feel very welcome at the hotel she also suggested to go down and have dinner at the resturant how amazing the food was so i did just that it was very amazing just as she said because of philly i will stay here again again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    19
    15
    8
See reviews for
37
23
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When you first walk in to this hotel it looks so clean and inviting. But, when we got to our room, which was non-smoking, it smelled so bad that I had to try and sleep in the car. After 2 hours in the car, I got up to try again. I didn't get much sleep as it smelled so bad of smoke and I have asthma and was having a terrible time with breathing.

When we went for the complimentary breakfast that area was also clean and inviting. The food was good for a breakfast at a hotel like the normal stuff you'd get, waffle, cereal, yogurt, bagel, coffee, OJ, bacon, etc.

My suggestion is if you book here make sure you inspect the room if you don't like to smell cigarette smoke all night. It was terrible! Maybe some of the other rooms are better but we didn't have a choice as all along up the highway every thing was booked so we took what we got.

And, on a side note: At least the sheets were clean.

Room Tip: Don't go with a room till you smell the inside especially if you have breathing problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. I assure you that if the front desk staff would have been notified of the smoke smell and your asthma we would have been able to address the issue and possibly moved you to a different room. Although our hotel is "smoke free" we still have guests who smoke in our rooms from time to time. Our housekeeping staff tries their best to clean the room of the smoke smells once that happens with a special cleaner. Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

For the 16th year our family has returned to the Clarion, ( Formerly Holiday Inn) for our reunion . Great service, friendly staff, and good value is why we return year after year.
A big thank you to JR, (Gen. Mgr) , Kim , Ronnie, Brad, Amy and all the staff.

You just can't beat the hospitality!

Room Tip: 1st Floor, facing the pool, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience while staying with us. The entire staff is delighted to know you and your family had another successful and comfortable reunion this year. We are looking forward in assisting with planning the next reunion. We look forward in seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Clarion Inn, Fairmont has hosted our Family Reunions for many years now. The staff is so warm and friendly and always go above and beyond to meet our needs. The sales staff and catering staff where wonderful to work with. They again went above and beyond to meet the need of all family members 1 to 80. The kitchen staff made the, best Friday night appetizer buffet for our incoming traveling Family members along with a nice breakfast the next day and a good old traditional backyard bbq for Saturday nights gathering along with rootbeer floats and snow cones. Thanks so much Clarion Inn another successful Family Reunion ( 75 family members attended )

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am excited to hear you and your family had another successful family reunion again this year. It was wonderful to see everyone having a good time. The staff was very happy to assist with the planning and organizing of the functions and food services. Our food and beverage departmens take great pride in the quality our guests recieve. Again, thank you for your loyalty and we look forward seeing you and the family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed, and we really enjoyed our stay! The housekeeping was great. My housekeeper, Irene, was wonderful! She was great with directions! Very helpful! We will definitely be back on our next trip! The hotel itself was very clean! The pool was great, the kids loved it! The price of the room was a little more than I expected, but we were very pleased with our stay! Thank you to all the Clarion Inn employees for making our stay great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are excited to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel. Our goal is to ensure each of our guests leave with a positive experience and it is great to see we were able to deliver on our promise to you. Irene is a true asset to our team and genuinely cares about the service she delivers. Thank you for being a guest with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It is always a pleasure when you are in need to find wonderful people that will help you. Ronnie (Manager) and Carmen made me a very happy traveler. In need of a room late at night they made me feel special and found a room for me that was perfect for me and my family. This is what customer service is all about. Stop by and see them and they will find a great room for you too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us. It is great to hear you had such a wonderful stay. Ronnie and Carmen take great pride in the service they deliver to each of our guests and are true assets to our hotel. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Management and staff did an excellent job with our accommodations, food and all around care of our large Fraternal Order of Eagles state conference last month (June). The hotel manager and housekeeping supervisor were fantastic!! ( J.R. And Debbie),So wonderful to work with!

I would highly recommend this hotel for conferences, meetings or personal stays.

We were treated so very well for our very special weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. It was a pleasure to work with such a great group of people. The entire staff was excited to be here to assist and serve each of the attendees of the conference. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to host another FOE conference in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairmont
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
Red Roof Inn Fairmont
#3 of 10 in Fairmont
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Fairmont
2.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Pettyjohn
The Inn at Pettyjohn
#6 of 10 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.