We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fairmont
Chateaugay Lake NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was on our route, was pet friendly, was easy-on easy-off the interstate, and had a restaurant. It did not disappoint. I had never stayed in a Clarion before, and we really liked it. The lobby, room, and bathroom were very clean. We had room service which was timely, and the food was hot. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a room by the door so we could walk our dog without disturbing others. Also the handi-capped accessible room was fine. We would stay here again. Oh, and they also had a continental breakfast. I was a little disappointed that the restaurant didn't offer a full breakfast. We did not partake of the continental breakfast, so I can't review it.
Overall, it was a good stay. I'd r

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
15
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is fine for an over night on a long distance car trip. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Be sure to avoid the rooms at the end of the hallways by the stair wells - noisy. The hotel is located up a large hill from the interstate - decent view and far enough away from the interstate to avoid highway noise. Breakfast was adequate and nothing special. The staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the end of the hall near the stair ways - unless of course you want a noisy locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We take great pride in the service we deliver to each of our guests. We work diligently in continuously improving our hotel's service and amenities. We will continue to offer complimentary breakfast with added items over the next several months. We hope you get to visit our hotel on your next trip through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Used to stay here when it was under a different name. It was dated, worn and needed renovation. Now under Clarion Inn, they have renovated it and the rooms are more than average now. Definitely cleaner, crispier and comfortable night sleep. Like other reviewers said, the staffs are great too! Did not eat at the restaurant but I have also heard they serve good food. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverstraw, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Clarion Inn in Fairmont W. Va for a motorcycle rally. Three employee's of the Clarion went above and beyond their duties during our stay. The petite little dark haired girl at the front desk ( I didn't get her name), Ronnie, and Amy. The various chef's also catered to one of our party who had dietary issues. The helped to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the preasure of staying at this hotel again as I was in town for MountainFest this past weekend. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is older, but I think the folks working there are great. Others in our group were impressed with the hotel as well, as this was their first time to the area. The staff working was very pleasant and always smiled when I encountered them. The weather was really bad so we spent a lot of time in the hotel's restaurant and bar. Amy and Carmen were great, and you could tell they took great pride in their jobs. We look forward to a return to the hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we had booked our 5 nights @ the Holiday Inn only to find out they were not pet friendly. Robin @ the front desk found a room for us (@ an incredible rate) even though it was filled (bike weekend) she did an amazing job, and was totally friendly & cheerful every time I spoke w/ her. We will be returning in Sept. ( for my Mom's memorial) and will hopefully be staying there again-we need quite a few rooms this time- I'm sure Robin can work her magic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were disappointed by this hotel, and for the price we paid we would have expected more. The lobby looked ok, but once we went to our room things were not so great. Outside the building the trash bins were overflowing (ok, it was a Sunday, but still.... ). Inside, the hallways smelled quite bad and the carpets were worn and the walls marred. The room showed definite signs of years of wear. The carpet was fairly new, but still did not inspire confidence on the cleanliness front. On the positive side, though there were plenty of people there, it was quiet, the bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were clean and new. Breakfast was standard, but not especially inviting. They had fried eggs which clearly had been cooked in the microwave, as they were rubbery and tasteless. The breakfast room, like our room, had seen better days. The staff seemed friendly, but that is not enough for us to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and your experience while you were hear. I would like to apologize on behalf of the management and staff. Our staff has always taken pride in the cleanliness and service we provide. I want to personally apologize for the lack of cleanliness you received. We are always upgrading our features we offer, as well as the appearance of our guest rooms. We will be doing extensive renovations to our guest rooms this fall and into the winter seasons. I hope you give us an opportunity to showcase those upgrades in the future on your next trip to our area. We always take these types of comments very serious and use these comments as a way of improving what our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.