We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, bad and ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, bad and ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at The Clarion in Fairmont, WV. From the moment I walked in the woman at the front desk made me feel as though I was a bother to her. She was very short with me and extremely rude. We had arrived early and was not permited to check in until 3:00pm which was fine except for the way she informed us. She said "We do have to clean the rooms you know!". Well all well and good but....when we finally did get to check in (the man who did check us in was extremely nice and helpful), I picked up the information folder on the desk in our room and a marijuana cigarette fell off of the bottom of it. We called the front desk and requested a manager to come to the room. The housekeeping manager came up (she was extremely nice and helpful also) and apologized and took the cigarette and assured us the hotel manager would see it. The washcloths we were given appeared as though someone else had already used them, there were stains on the carpet, smears of something on the bedskirt and shower curtain and mold in the corner of the bathtub and floor in the bathroom. Obviously they need more time to clean the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your recent experience at our hotel. Our staff and management take your comments very seriously. I would like to first apolgize on behalf of myself and the entire staff for the lack of service you received. We hold our service standards very high and set our goals to deliver the best service to each and every guest. We have also addressed your cleanliness concerns with the housekeeping staff and are taking proper measures to insure each room is cleaned thouroughly and exceed our guest's expectations. I hope you get a chance to stay with us in the future so we can demonstrate true guest service and cleanliness the way each guest deserves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    16
    13
    6
See reviews for
26
16
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

After refusing to stay at filthy Days Inn we desperately tried to find a room meeting our needs. The desk clerk here shuffled bookings around to find us a room.This was outstanding customer service. The hotel was otherwise average. Acceptable cleanliness,comfortable beds,new TVs,but overall somewhat in need of some updating.It is a large building so quite a walk to pool and breakfast area. Breakfast was a bit disappointing for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed in several Clarions and found them to be quite nice. This one in Fairmont disappointed us? Our room was quite nice, the staff was pleasant. But the place is really shabby in most areas. We went to bed Friday night and the phone rand around 11 PM, but no one was there. Same thing early the next morning. Breakfast was included but it was so unappetizing, we went out.

The sound insulation must be non-existent because we could hear the conversations from outside in the pool area quite clearly.

Room Tip: Not facing pool unless you don't mind hearing folks talking until late.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because it was where my husbands company put us up. The staff was awesome. They were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. We had the room for 2 weeks. We left for the weekend but continued to keep the room. When we returned, there where bugs in the tub. I checked the bedding and found no bugs but between the mattress and box spring there was a lot of hair. Pretty gross. It is an older hotel and there was mold around the windows. For the price, there are better places to stay close by.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Who'd have thought something next to a highway would be so peaceful? A long steep driveway leads you up to a well-kept hotel. Our only complaint was a burnt out light bulb, which was replaced soon. (Meanwhile, every staff member we met while unloading the car assured us it was being attended to!) The server at the lounge was friendly and cheerful, and the large salads we ordered were delicious. The free, hot breakfast was good, too. The staff was uniformly polite and friendly.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I asked to see a room before I was going to pay over $100/night in what seemed like a very old, rundown hotel. Upon opening the door and turning on the light, there were bugs scattering in the bathroom. On that note, I didn't go further and left.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR B, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I want to take a moment to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had at our hotel. On behalf of the management and staff, we wish your experience would have been much different so you would have been able to see the dedication our staff has for guest satisfaction and quality of service. We hope you would allow us another opportunity with your next visit to the Fairmont area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurtland, Ky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for an AAU tourney. It is a large hotel and an older one. Check-in was smooth and the staff were friendly. Hot breakfast in the AM was better than average. Rooms were average and where older. For the price we paid I can't really complain. The drive way is a little steep getting up to the hotel. It is right off the interstate which was nice. Some fast food & gas stations resturants close by. I did try to call back to the hotel one morning to call my room and no one answered. I did this repeatedly until on the fourth or fifth try, someone finally picked up the phone at the front desk! Glad it was an emergency or I would have been in trouble!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 930 East Grafton Road, Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Fairmont is conveniently located in Fairmont, which is just outside Morgantown, West Virginia. Fairmont State University and West Virginia University are minutes away from this West Virginia hotel. The Clarion Inn is the only full service hotel in Fairmont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.