We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst night's sleep ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the worst night's sleep ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was a disaster. It was bad enough that it was under renovation and the pool and fitness center were closed, but it was dirty, noisy, and downright awful. The nonsmoking room clearly had been smoked in. The bathtub wouldn't drain, so we stood in dirty water. The A/C unit in the room literally sounded like a turbine jet engine revving up and then whining down. It literally kept waking us up all night. The temperature in the room was either stifling hot or like ice, with nothing between, The cable went out. The toilet would barely flush. The only official communication in the room was a hand-scrawled note on the telephone pad wishing us a good stay. The only way to call the front desk was by getting an outside line and dialing a full phone number with area code that was taped on the receiver.. When I tried to complain the next morning at checkout about all the problems, the tattooed young man who grudgingly came out of the back room when the housekeepers told him someone was at the desk looked at me like he couldn't care less. The woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful, but this young man shouldn't be in the hospitality business. There was no apology, and no offer to make things right. The only helpful gesture was an offer to come spray deodorizer in the room. I would never stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We know how important a quiet and comfortable room is during your travels. We would like to discuss your stay with you. Please contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    6
    10
    12
See reviews for
34
17
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I started to let other reviews affect what I'd write, but then decided just to stick with my initial impression. Our room was clean, big and perfect for us - one adult, two children. True, the pool was closed, which was a bit of a let-down, but such is life! The staff were so friendly, and check-in was a breeze. They had fresh baked cookies which was cool for the kids. It was a nice bonus to have breakfast included. My kids love biscuits and gravy - which we never have at home - so that was a special treat for them. This place is so easy to get to, and it's especially nice because there is a gas station, a K-mart, a McDonalds, and a bunch of other stuff. Very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

All the staff from the front desk to the housekeeping were extremely friendly. The breakfast area is is desperate need of being updated. The carpet should be pulled up and a hardwood or vinyal floor should be put in so when there are spills they can be cleaned up more easily and not leave stains. Food was ok but yogurt should be served in individual cups not out of a big container.
The room was clean and for me the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We typically find that the Country Inn/Suites chain is a nice stay for our family with roomy rooms, indoor pools, acceptable quality and reasonable value. Unforunately, this hotel did not deliver as the room was pretty low quality, and the breakfast and breakfast area were rather sub-par, the pool was closed for some sort of repair (no one had mentioned this either when we reserved or at the front desk). I don't tend to be a whiner, am willing to tolerate a certain amount of the unexpected, but get disappointed when it turns into a consistent theme. This location, while a good value, didn't impress. We've stayed at the other location (South) in Charleston, had a much better experience, and wish we had this time.

Room Tip: Tip: Drive 10 miles south to their other location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North and understand the frustration with an unclean room. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact us at ccare@carlsonrezidor.com so we can further discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkview hotels

York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We got a room that wasn't clean (carpet and dust), a shower with no shower head, an air conditioning unit that was loud and beds that were outdated and uncomfortable. The only bright spot was a very nice and handy maintenance man. I believe they are renovating...so maybe improvements are on there way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is being remodeled right now and should be pretty nice in another month or two. The suite we stayed in was rather strange but nice and clean and had been remodeled. The front desk folks were very nice. The breakfast area was badly outdated but will be remodeled soon. The hotel in easy walking distance of several restaurants including a Bob Evans and a Ponderosa Steak House. Will be pretty nice once totally renovated.

Room Tip: Apparently it is being remodeled from the top floor down from what I could tell. Fairly isolated lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did not get the type of room we had requested, were told in the morning they had a room with a king size bed, got two doubles. Have a special needs child and really needed a king size bed so he could sleep between us. Went back to the front desk, they acted indifferent, just said they didn't have one. Changed clothes to go to pool, got downstairs and sign said, "Closed due to guest neglect". Who puts a sign up like that?! I think it is insulting to guests and shows what they think of their guests. Just put a sign up that says, "Temporairly closed". Coffee pot in room, no coffee. Windows dirty. Carpet was so worn on looked dirty, didn't feel comforable with toddler playing on floor. Elevator felt like it was going to break. Charged for two nights stay, asked to correct it, they were to call back, never did. Contacted bank to dispute charges as we only stayed one night. Took almost a week, husband went in to talk to them twice, finally corrected, but took almost a week for them to do it. Country Inn & Suites are normally nice, this place, not so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We apologize you were not given the room you requested for your stay. We also apologize the facilities were not available at the time of stay. We do understand how frustrating this must have been. We do know when you travel you want to feel like it is your home away from home. We would like to discuss your stay further. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. We look forward to hearing from you. ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview

Address: 101 Crossing Shopping Center, Elkview, WV 25071 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Charleston North (Elkview)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Elkview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Elkview
Elkview Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Elkview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.